England head coach Eddie Jones has named his side to take on the Springboks at Twickenham as they look to avenge their recent 2-1 series defeat.


As expected Owen Farrell starts at flyhalf ahead of George Ford, with Ben Youngs inside him. Ben T’eo despite not having much rugby under his belt is handed the number 12 jersey with Henry Slade outside him. Manu Tuilagi is named on the bench, having last played for England against Wales in the 2016 Six Nations.

Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs) will make his starting debut for England while uncapped players Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) and Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs) are on the bench.

George Kruis (Saracens), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) and Te’o (Worcester Warriors) are included for the first time since last season’s Six Nations.

Dylan Hartley returns for the first time since the Six Nations, having missed the South Africa June tour as he recovered from concussion.

On England’s preparation ahead of Saturday, Jones said: “We’ve become very well organised in our set piece and have done a lot of good work in Portugal over the last week. We have put in a new defence system and our attack looks more organised than it was on the South Africa tour.”

On taking on South Africa Jones said: “Against South Africa you have got the physical battle up front and then you have to be tactically smart in how you attack against them. We need to find ways to gain momentum, then once we find momentum, convert that to points.

“We are really excited to be back at Twickenham Stadium. It’s been a long time and we can’t wait to play in front of 82,000 fans.”


There is no place in the 23-man squad for Chris Ashton, who will have to bide his time to add to his 39 caps and 19 tries for England.

Jones has been shorn of several first team regulars due to injury including Billy Vunipola, Chris Robshaw and Joe Launchbury, while Nathan Hughes and Alex Lozowski are suspended.

England starting XV
15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 21 caps)
14 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 26 caps)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 13 caps)
12 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 13 caps)
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 61 caps) co-captain
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 77 caps)

1 Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 93 caps) co-captain
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 13 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 22 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 25 caps)
6 Brad Shields (Wasps, 2 caps)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 4 caps)
8 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 4 caps)

16 Jamie George (Saracens, 28 caps)
17 Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 11 caps)
19 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)
20 Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
21 Danny Care (Harlequins, 81 caps)
22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 47 caps)
23 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 26 caps)

You may also like: Owen Farrell will struggle with new tackle laws

Video Spacer


Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now