Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

No Johnny Sexton as Leinster change seven for visit of Glasgow

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Ireland skipper Johnny Sexton is among the absentees after Leinster decided to make seven changes for Saturday’s URC quarter-final versus Glasgow following last weekend’s dramatic defeat to La Rochelle in the final of the Heineken Champions Cup.


The Irish province lost out in the dying moments to a converted try in Marseille having led the French side for most of the showpiece decider and they will now look to revive their season by fielding a much-changed XV for the league visit of the Warriors to the RDS.

Sexton, who was hailed by Brian O’Driscoll on RugbyPass in the build-up to the final, picked up a first-half ankle injury in France when inadvertently clattered into by teammate James Ryan in a double tackle and he played on for more than an hour before giving way to Ross Byrne, who is this week’s starting at No10.

Video Spacer

James O’Connor is brilliantly open about his life & career | RugbyPass Offload | Episode 36
Video Spacer
James O’Connor is brilliantly open about his life & career | RugbyPass Offload | Episode 36

The other backline changes see Ciaran Frawley partnering Garry Ringrose in the midfield, with Robbie Henshaw occupying a bench role, while Jordan Larmour and Rory O’Loughlin will start in place of Hugo Keenen and James Lowe. Larmour is chosen on the right wing with Jimmy O’Brien reverting to full-back in the absence of Keenan.

In the pack, Joe McCarthy and Dan Sheehan are promoted from the bench to start in place of the benched Ross Moloney and the injured Ronan Kelleher, while Jack Conan’s selection on the replacements has allowed Ryan Baird to come in at blindside with Caelan Doris switching to No8.


LEINSTER: Jimmy O’Brien; Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Ciaran Frawley, Rory O’Loughlin; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong, Joe McCarthy, James Ryan (capt), Ryan Baird, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris. Reps: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Michael Ala’alatoa, Ross Molony, Jack Conan, Luke McGrath, Harry Byrne, Robbie Henshaw


GLASGOW: Ollie Smith; Josh McKay, Sione Tuipulotu, Sam Johnson, Rufus McLean; Ross Thompson, Ali Price; Jamie Bhatti, George Turner, Zander Fagerson, Rob Harley, Richie Gray, Ryan Wilson (capt), Gregor Brown, Jack Dempsey. Reps: Fraser Brown, Oli Kebble, Simon Berghan, Lewis Bean, Kiran McDonald, Thomas Gordon, George Horne, Domingo Miotti


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free