Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



'Daring, gallus and honest, Stuart Hogg has defined a Scottish era'

Stuart Hogg retires young, but retires a giant of Scottish sport.

RugbyPass+ Home

Munster end 50-year wait for South African scalp

Cork , Ireland - 10 November 2022; Grant Williams of South Africa Select XV after the match between Munster and South Africa Select XV at Páirc Ui Chaoimh in Cork. (Photo By David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

A Munster side shorn of its Ireland squad contingent saw off South Africa ‘A’ 28-14 in front of a record crowd of more than 40,000 fans in Cork.


In the first rugby match ever held at Pairc Ui Chaoimh – the home of Cork GAA – Munster registered their maiden victory over a touring South Africa outfit.

Shane Daly opened the scoring for the hosts after just three minutes, with Ben Healy adding the conversion by splitting posts that had to be transported from Thomond Park in Limerick especially for this match.

Video Spacer

Gurthrö Steenkamp | French Rugby Podcast
Video Spacer
Gurthrö Steenkamp | French Rugby Podcast

Aphelele Fassi’s touchdown and Johan Goosen’s kick brought the tourists level, but Simon Zebo and Diarmuid Barron went over before the break – Healy converting both – as Graham Rowntree’s men pulled clear.

Mike Haley added his name to the scoresheet shortly after the interval, with Healy’s extras making it 28-7 to Munster, who have struggled for form in the United Rugby Championship so far this season.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe’s try just after the hour, converted by Gianni Lombard, served as nothing more than a consolation for the South African XV.


The total attendance of 41,400 was the largest crowd ever to have watched a game of rugby in the province.

The scorers

For Munster
Tries: Daly, Zebo, Barron, Haley
Cons: Healy 4

For South Africa ‘A’
Tries: Fassi, Notshe
Cons: Goosen, Lombard


Yellow card: Liam O’Connor (Munster, 61 – repeated infringement, illegal scrumming)


Munster: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Shane Daly, 13 Antoine Frisch, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ben Healy, 9 Paddy Patterson, 8 Gavin Coombes, 7 John Hodnett, 6 Jack O’Donoghue (captain), 5 Kiran McDonald, 4 Edwin Edogbo, 3 Roman Salanoa, 2 Diarmuid Barron, 1 Josh Wycherley.
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Liam O’Connor, 18 Keynan Knox, 19 Cian Hurley, 20 Alex Kendellen, 21 Neil Cronin, 22 Patrick Campbell, 23 Malakai Fekitoa.

South Africa ‘A’: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Henco van Wyk, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Jean-Luc du Preez, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Phendulani Buthelezi, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Thomas du Toit (captain), 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Dan du Preez, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Grant Williams, 22 Sanele Nohamba, 23 Gianni Lombard.


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING 'Long ban' predicted after ugly targeting of young fly-half 'Long ban' predicted after ugly targeting of young fly-half