Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Luke Jacobson set to captain new-look Chiefs side in New Plymouth

By Finn Morton
(Photo by WILLIAM WEST/AFP via Getty Images)

All Black Luke Jacobson will captain a new-look Chiefs outfit when they take on the Queensland Reds in New Plymouth on Friday.


Chiefs coach Clayton McMillan has made 10 changes to the starting side, including some potentially significant decisions at hooker, flanker and halfback.

The unbeaten Chiefs will be without All Blacks trio Samisoni Taukei’aho, Sam Cane and Brad Weber for the round 12 clash in Taranaki.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Instead, backrower Luke Jacobson will lead the team as they look to extend their unbeaten streak to 11 games in 2023.

The Chiefs have named a completely different front-row this week, while Tupou Vaa’i is the only player in the tight five to retain his spot in the run-on side.

Samipeni Finau and Simon Parker will start on the flanks, will captain Luke Jacobson will pack down at the back of the scrum.

Co-captain Brad Weber has not been named this week, instead, rising star Cortez Ratima will get another opportunity to star in the No. 9 jersey.



Ratima will line-up in the halves alongside in-form playmaker Damian McKenzie, who has retained his spot at first five.

The familiar back three trio of Etene Nanai-Seturo, Emoni Narawa and Shaun Stevenson has been named once again this week.

In-form centre Daniel Rona makes way for inside centre Rameka Poihipi, with Anton Lienert-Brown shifting out one spot in the midfield.

“It is home to a number of our players, and it will be a proud moment for those who were fit and available to play in front of friends and family,” coach Clayton McMillan said in a statement.


“That played a part in our squad selection; alongside All Black rest protocols, increasing squad readiness for upcoming games, and respecting the huge challenge the Reds will bring.

“At this stage of the season, every point counts and I have no doubt both teams will come eager to lock horns in the bullring.”

The match between the Chiefs and Reds is set to kick-off at 7.05pm NZST at Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth, on Friday.

Chiefs team to take on Reds

  1. Jared Proffit
  2. Bradley Slater
  3. John Ryan
  4. Tupou Vaa’i
  5. Josh Lord
  6. Samipeni Finau
  7. Simon Parker
  8. Luke Jacobson (c)
  9. Cortez Ratima
  10. Damian McKenzie
  11. Etene Nanai-Seturo
  12. Rameka Poihipi
  13. Anton Lienert-Brown
  14. Emoni Narawa
  15. Shaun Stevenson


  1. Tyrone Thompson
  2. Ollie Norris
  3. Atunaisa Moli
  4. Manaaki Selby-Rickit
  5. Naitoa Ah Kuoi
  6. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi
  7. Josh Ioane
  8. Alex Nankivell

Players not considered due to injury: Angus Ta’avao, Xavier Roe, Quinn Tupaea, Brodie Retallick, Gideon Wrampling, Ngatungane Punivai, Kaylum Boshier, Peniasi Malimali, Bryn Gatland


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Hamish Bain: 'After my first ball-carry, I felt a finger in my eye... what?!' Hamish Bain: 'After my first ball-carry, I felt a finger in my eye... what?!'