Joe Moody facing another sideline stint after cheap shot
Moody is alleged to have contravened Law 9.12 Dangerous Play – Striking with the Arm, when he took Kurtley Beale out without the ball before running in support to score a try in the 35th minute.
SANZAAR officials have case to answer after New Zealand referees miss ‘red card’ offence from All Black Joe Moody on Kurtley Beale https://t.co/Y8aRVtpSr3 via https://t.co/27h0bckklD pic.twitter.com/7Hb2Q8bX1Q
— SARugbyChick (@SARugbyChick) May 12, 2018
Although the incident went without sanction at the time, upon further review of the match footage the Citing Commissioner deemed the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.
Moody was making his first appearance of the season after missing nine months with a shoulder injury and a further month with a broken finger. He could be set for another sideline spell after this weekend’s act of foul play, with a potential suspension on the cards.
The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee on the 13th of May.
All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.
For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.
You may also enjoy:
Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.Sign Up Now