Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Selection axe falls for centre as Jones names 35-man England squad

By Kim Ekin
Eddie Jones (PA)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Head coach Eddie Jones has named a 35-man England squad for next weekend’s Guinness Six Nations match against Wales at Twickenham.


The squad includes Manu Tuilagi and Courtney Lawes, who were included in Jones’ 25-man England squad for fallow week.

The pair have both been on the comeback trail in recent weeks and look like viable selection options for Jones ahead of the Wales match.

Video Spacer

Le French Rugby Podcast – Episode Episode 17
Video Spacer
Le French Rugby Podcast – Episode Episode 17

Forwards Jamie Blamire, Joe Heyes, Nick Isiekwe, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler and Sam Simmonds, and backs George Furbank, Ollie Hassell-Collins, Louis Lynagh, Raffi Quirke and Adam Radwan were all invited back after being released back to their clubs last week.

However, there is no room for Gloucester centre Mark Atkinson, who hasn’t been named in the 35-man squad, apparently making way for Tuilagi’s inclusion.

“The squad regrouped at the Honda England Rugby Performance Centre at Pennyhill Park in Bagshot this afternoon [Sunday] as they continue preparations for the Wales game, which will be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday 26 February (4.45pm KO),” a brief RFU statement read. “Jonny Hill will also continue his rehab in camp.”



Alfie Barbeary (Wasps, uncapped)
Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 5 caps)
Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 38 caps)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 6 caps)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 28 caps)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 33 caps)
Jamie George (Saracens, 63 caps)
Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens, 53 caps)
Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, 5 caps)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 69 caps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 90 caps)
Joe Marler (Harlequins, 76 caps)
Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 11 caps)
Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 49 caps)
Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 17 caps)

Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
Elliot Daly (Saracens, 54 caps)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 79 caps)
George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
Louis Lynagh (Harlequins, uncapped)
Max Malins (Saracens, 12 caps)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 9 caps)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 36 caps)
Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)
Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps)
Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 3 caps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 45 caps)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 7 caps)
Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 7 caps)
Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 46 caps)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 114 caps)


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING NZ claim Rugby Championship title as Boks fall short in Durban NZ claim Rugby Championship title as Boks fall short