French ProD2 side Vannes thought they had discovered a loophole in the laws on Saturday when they scored a try against Soyaux-Angouleme.
With a penalty kick in front of the posts, fly-half Christopher Hilsenbeck took advantage of his opponents being huddled under to posts to chip a kick from the tee to a vacant team-mate out wide to dot down unopposed.
The try was initially given by the referee before it was rescinded moments later. This was because Hilsenbeck had to make a genuine attempt at goal, which he obviously failed to do.
World Rugby clarified this in their law book, stating: “If the team indicates to the referee the intention to kick at goal, they must kick at goal.”
This was the Vannes kick:
Vannes v Soyaux #ProD2 ??
Hilsenbeck pide palos, pero se hace el vivo y en lugar de patear asiste a Popelin para el try
El árbitro primero otorga la conquista pero luego se corrige y lo anula pic.twitter.com/j8xuXibkOx
— Fran Capizzi ???? (@Fran_Capizzi) December 10, 2019
This trick has shades of a try scored by David Humphreys for Ulster against London Irish in 2006 where the fly-half also took advantage of the opposition being huddled under the posts to run into the corner from a penalty out wide.
That try was awarded, although in retrospect it should not have as the tee had been brought out to signal a kick at goal. However, there was no such luck for Vannes on this occasion.
Regardless of whether the try was awarded or not, this was poor sportsmanship and many will be relieved that such laws are in place to extinguish any hopes of exploiting potential loopholes like that.
WATCH: Follow all the action from the Heineken Champions Cup in the RugbyPass Live Match Centre with commentary, stats, news and more, plus live streaming in some places – click Sign Up Now to see what is available in your region
Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.