Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Carbery one of ten ex-Ireland players in Munster team for Barbarians

By Ian Cameron
Joey Carbery of Munster during the pre season friendly match between Connacht and Munster at The Sportsground in Galway. (Photo By Ben McShane/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Joey Carbery starts at standoff for Munster in a side brimming with both former and prospective Ireland internationals as they take on the Barbarians on Saturday in Thomond Park.


Ethan Coughlan, Edwin Edogbo, Shay McCarthy, Tony Butler, Mark Donnelly, Brian Gleeson, and Fionn Gibbons, all hailing from Munster Academy, have been selected for the squad as the URC champions look to claim victory over the famous Barbarians invitational team.

Giant lock Edogbo earns a starting spot in his first senior appearance of the 2023/24 season, while the 19-year-old Gleeson, who recently joined the Academy during the summer, is poised for his senior Munster debut.

Video Spacer

Separating Siya Kolisi the person from the captain

Video Spacer

Separating Siya Kolisi the person from the captain

Gleeson, who began his rugby journey at Thurles RFC and Rockwell College, distinguished himself by contributing significantly to the Grand Slam victory of the Ireland U20s last season.

The squad also welcomes Tom Ahern among the replacements, marking his inaugural appearance of the campaign.

Munster Barbarians
Munster players celebrate with the trophy after they won the United Rugby Championship final match between the Stormers and Munster at the Cape Town stadium in Cape Town on May 27, 2023. (Photo by Rodger Bosch / AFP) (Photo by RODGER BOSCH/AFP via Getty Images)

Shane Daly assumes the full-back position, with McCarthy and Calvin Nash taking their positions on the wings.


Maintaining continuity from the previous week’s triumph over Connacht, the half-back and centre partnerships remain unaltered. Scrum-half Coughlan and flyhalf Joey Carbery continue their partnership, while Rory Scannell and Antoine Frisch remain the midfield duo.

In the forward pack, Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, and Stephen Archer form the front row, with Edogbo and one-cap Ireland international Fineen Wycherley anchoring the engine room.

The side is completed by captain Jack O’Donoghue – also a former Ireland player – Jack Daly and Gavin Coombes – who narrowly missed out on a spot in Andy Farrell’s Ireland squad for the Rugby World Cup.

Ireland internationals Niall Scannell and John Ryan provide backup for the front row alongside Mark Donnelly, while Tom Ahern and Ireland U20s star Brian Gleeson offer cover in the forward positions.


Neil Cronin, Tony Butler and Fionn Gibbons are poised to provide reinforcement for the backline.

Munster: Shane Daly; Shay McCarthy, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Jack Daly, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Mark Donnelly, John Ryan, Tom Ahern, Brian Gleeson, Neil Cronin, Tony Butler, Fionn Gibbons.


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE How Kevin Foote's Rebels are making history after 'slap in the face' How Kevin Foote's Rebels are making history after 'slap in the face'