All fixtures and scores here!
Show scores

All Blacks team named


All Blacks team to face Wallabies named

The All Blacks team has been named to play Australia in the opening Bledisloe Cup Test of the Rugby Championship at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, on Saturday 18 August, with lock Sam Whitelock to bring up his century of Tests.

29-year-old Whitelock becomes just the eighth All Black and the first lock in the team’s century-plus history to play 100 Tests, and follows Captain Kieran Read, who reached the milestone last year. Whitelock knows his Australian opponents well – he will be playing his 25th Test against the Wallabies on Saturday.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said: “We’re all excited at what is shaping up to be another classic Bledisloe Cup encounter here in Sydney on Saturday night.

“We know that we have to earn the right to perform by preparing well and taking each moment that arises, and that mindset has been reflected in our preparation this week, which has been very good.

“The Bledisloe means a lot to this team and we have the opportunity to show just how much on Saturday night. As far as we’re concerned, neither team currently has possession of the Cup and if we want it, we’ve got to front up and take it.”

Hansen further added: “On behalf of the team, we want to congratulate Sammy on what will be a very special night for him and his family. We’re all very proud of him. He’s been an outstanding contributor to this team for a long time, both on and off the field. To play one Test for the All Blacks is an achievement in itself, but to be good enough to be selected and play 100 Tests is a remarkable feat. In doing so, he will join what is a small group of very special All Blacks.”

Hansen also added: “It’s also great to have Brodie and Kieran back after their lengthy absences. They both bring special qualities to the team and we look forward to seeing them produce that again in the black jersey.”

The matchday 23 is as follows (with Test caps in brackets):

1. Joe Moody (34)
2. Codie Taylor (32)
3. Owen Franks (98)
4. Brodie Retallick (68)
5. Samuel Whitelock (99)
6. Liam Squire (17)
7. Sam Cane (55)
8. Kieran Read – captain (109)
9. Aaron Smith (74)
10. Beauden Barrett (64)
11. Rieko Ioane (16)
12. Ryan Crotty (37)
13. Jack Goodhue (1)
14. Waisake Naholo (19)
15. Ben Smith (67)
16. Nathan Harris (13)
17. Karl Tu’inukuafe (3)
18. Ofa Tuungafasi (17)
19. Scott Barrett (19)
20. Ardie Savea (25)
21. TJ Perenara (45)
22. Damian McKenzie (15)
23. Anton Lienert-Brown (24)

Think you can build a Super team? Join The Rugby Championship Fantasy now and you’ll stand to win $1000s in prizes! It’s not hard:

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Join our mailing list and get news, highlights and more every week!

Thanks for joining our mailing list.
All Blacks team to face Wallabies named