Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Premiership Rugby Info and FAQs

Searching for answers to your Premiership Rugby-related questions? Then we can help. Here at RugbyPass, our rugby gurus have sifted through all of your emails and comments to uncover your most pressing, popular and frequently asked questions. Whether you want to know more about the history of the tournament or the tournament’s top players, you’ll find the answers in our Premiership Rugby FAQs. 

This handy guide contains the Premiership Rugby information required to transform you from a casual fan to a knowledgeable expert. From losses and winning margins to club records and sponsorship changes, we’ve gathered facts and assembled answers about every aspect of the league. 

Do you know when Premiership Rugby was founded? Which teams have competed in every season? Or the club that boasts the most Premiership titles? From the very first league to the most successful teams, keep scrolling to find the answers.

How does Premiership Rugby work? How does Premiership Rugby work?

Premiership Rugby is an English rugby union competition that was founded in 1987. The tournament is officially known as Gallagher Premiership Rugby for sponsorship purposes.

13 clubs compete in Premiership Rugby across 24 matches, with each team playing all the others once at home and once away. Following the league phase of the tournament, the top four teams progress to the semi-final stage. The overall winner is then crowned in the final. The top teams in Premiership Rugby also qualify for the European Rugby Champions Cup.

Who are the current Premiership Rugby champions? Who are the current Premiership Rugby champions?

The current Premiership Rugby champions are Leicester Tigers. The club’s 2021-2022 success was their 11th. 

Leicester Tigers have also won the title more often than any other team. They’ve won the tournament in 1988, 1995, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013 and 2022.

How many points for a win in Premiership Rugby? How many points for a win in Premiership Rugby?

A team that wins a match in Premiership Rugby is awarded four points. In the event of a draw, two points are awarded to both sides. On top of this, teams can also earn bonus points by scoring four tries or by losing by less than seven points.

How many teams get relegated from Premiership Rugby? How many teams get relegated from Premiership Rugby?

As it stands, no teams are relegated at the end of the season. However, the RFU has recently announced plans to reinstate relegation in the 2023-24 season. Following this, one team will be relegated from Premiership Rugby each season.

What is Premiership Rugby? What is Premiership Rugby?

Premiership Rugby is a professional English rugby union tournament. It’s also the top division of the English rugby union system. The tournament first began in 1987 and is regarded as one of the best professional rugby leagues in the Western and Northern hemispheres.

Who sponsors Premiership Rugby? Who sponsors Premiership Rugby?

Premiership Rugby is sponsored by Gallagher, a global insurance broker. The sponsorship first began during the 2018/19 season, when the competition became known as Gallagher Premiership Rugby. The Premiership Rugby website refers to Gallagher as the ‘Official Title Partner of Premiership Rugby.’

Latest Premiership Rugby News

Saracens have confirmed the signing of Harry Wilson from Doncaster - a move first report by RugbyPass at the start of the month.

Ian Cameron
18 Jul 2024, 6:52

Exeter Chiefs have ended their long search for a new centre after signing up Tamati Tua, who has been the mainstay of the ACT Brum…

Neil Fissler
17 Jul 2024, 9:35

Bristol have announced they will host one of their ‘home’ Gallagher Premiership fixtures next season at Cardiff’s Principali…

16 Jul 2024, 16:31

Former Scotland full-back Stuart Hogg will take his first steps back into rugby when he reports for pre-season training with Montp…

Neil Fissler
13 Jul 2024, 5:42

Six weeks after RugbyPass first broke the news of his impending arrival, ambitious Championship side Doncaster Knights have today …

Jon Newcombe
11 Jul 2024, 14:32

Gallagher Premiership champions Northampton Saints have unveiled their new club crest which will be used from next season.

Josh Raisey
11 Jul 2024, 4:45

Toulouse would like openside Jack Willis to slam the door shut on talk of a return to the Premiership by putting pen to paper on a…

Neil Fissler
06 Jul 2024, 6:31

Gloucester and Argentina lock Matias Alemanno has signed a new deal with the club.

Josh Raisey
04 Jul 2024, 4:41