Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



The three fixable factors behind Eddie Jones' England stagnation

Eddie Jones' England weren't far away from making the grade.

RugbyPass+ Home

Springbok veteran missing again as Bulls name team for Currie Cup opener

By Online Editors
(Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Veteran Springbok Morne Steyn is missing once again from the Vodacom Bulls line-up, this time for their Carling Currie Cup opener against DHL Western Province at Newlands.


Steyn, who won a total of 66 Springbok caps, was “rested” for the Bulls’ final Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked match, but misses out on selection once again.

Elsewhere, Johan Grobbelaar makes a return to the Bulls pack and will start at hooker. The recently crowned Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked champions now set their sights on the Carling Currie Cup which the Pretoria franchise last won in 2009, and they will be determined to bag a full house of points in what marks DHL Newlands swansong season.

Video Spacer

Foster on his team changes for Argentina II
Video Spacer
Foster on his team changes for Argentina II

Bulls Director of Rugby, Jake White has tweaked his match day squad with the inclusion of Grobbelaar while Chris Smith retains the no.10 jersey after an impressive showing last week.

The rest of the starting line-up remains unchanged.

Amongst the replacements, Corniel Els shifts to the bench and will provide cover at hooker while Clinton Swart retains the number 22 jersey.

“We achieved our first goal of the post-pandemic season and now we shift our focus to securing the Currie Cup with a massive target on our backs,” explained White.


“There are a few teams that can travel to Newlands as favourites, which makes our job harder. Couple that with the fact that Western Province are always a difficult team to face, home or away, and fans can expect a true old school North-South Derby” he added.
Kick-off is 19:00.

Vodacom Bulls: 15. David Kriel, 14. Travis Ismaiel, 13. Stedman Gans, 12. Cornal Hendricks, 11. Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10. Chris Smith, 9. Ivan van Zyl, 8. Duane Vermeulen (c), 7. Arno Botha, 6. Marco van Staden, 5. Ruan Nortje, 4. Walt Steenkamp, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Jacques van Rooyen.

Replacements: 16. Corniel Els, 17. Gerhard Steenekamp, 18. Marcel van der Merwe, 19. Sintu Manjezi, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Clinton Swart, 23. Marco Jansen van Vuren.


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Rassie Erasmus makes public Whats App message from Eddie Jones Rassie Erasmus shares Whats App message from Eddie Jones