Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Queensland Reds re-sign young quartet of players ahead of 2021 Super Rugby AU

By Online Editors
(Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

The Queensland Rugby Union has today confirmed front-rower Josh Nasser and second-row duo Tuaina Taii Tualima and Ryan Smith have all re-signed with the Queensland Reds on two-year deals, while scrumhalf Moses Sorovi has signed a one-year contract extension.


Queensland’s forward pack will be bolstered by the trio’s recommitment that will see them remain at Ballymore through 2022.

Playing seven games this year, Sorovi will look to add to his 31 Queensland caps after re-signing with the Reds through 2021.

Video Spacer

Mario Ledesma press conference | Wallabies vs Pumas | RugbyPass
Video Spacer
Mario Ledesma press conference | Wallabies vs Pumas | RugbyPass

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s great to have Moses, Josh, Tuaina and Ryan all stay in Queensland.

“It’s really good to see some consistency with our players wanting to remain here and play footy with their mates.

“Josh and Tuaina both made their Queensland debuts this year. Josh has come through as a developing tighthead prop but has moved into the hooker position and has made good progress.

“Tuaina is a versatile backrower/lock and has shown strong contributions during Super Rugby AU. We’re looking for him to take it to the next level in our program.


“Ryan is a good team man. With his height, size and raw ability he has the potential to make an impact in Super Rugby.

“We’re really pleased where Moses is at and we’re pleased he’s staying on for another year.”

There’s set to be further squad announcements ahead of the 2021 season, including more Queensland Pathway products and Reds Academy signings.

Confirmed Queensland Reds players for 2021 (as of yet)

Props: Feao Fotuaika, Harry Hoopert, Josh Nasser, Taniela Tupou

Hookers: Alex Mafi, Brandon Paenga-Amosa


Locks: Angus Blyth, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Ryan Smith, Tuaina Taii Tualima

Loose Forwards: Fraser McReight, Angus Scott-Young, Harry Wilson, Liam Wright

Halfbacks: Tate McDermott, Moses Sorovi

First-Fives: James O’Connor, Hamish Stewart

Midfielders: Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia

Outside Backs: Jock Campbell, Filipo Daugunu, Bryce Hegarty, Suliasi Vunivalu

– Queensland Rugby Union


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free