MATCH
CENTRE
All fixtures and scores here!
Login
Logout
Show scores

Liam Squire citing dropped

Back

Liam Squire citing dropped on eve of All Blacks series

Backrow Liam Squire is free to play for the All Blacks after his citing for striking was dismissed.

The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee dismissed the citing for the Highlander for contravening Law Law 9.12: Striking with shoulder, after he was Cited during a Super Rugby Match at the Weekend.

Squire has been cleared of all charges. The incident occurred in the 11th minute of the match between the Highlanders and Hurricanes played at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on 1 June 2018.

Continue reading below…

Questions marks were asked about this incident involving Julian Savea during the same match.

Video Spacer

In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following: “Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, including from the player, from the other player involved (and a medical report on him), from a member of the Highlanders’ coaching staff, and submissions from his legal representative, Aaron Lloyd, the Foul Play Review Committee dismissed the citing.”

“The Foul Play Review Committee found that the Player had legitimately entered the ruck ‘through the gate’, and not at great speed, with the intent of cleaning out the other Player.

“The Player had taken up, and held, a correct body position in order to try and effect the clean out, with his upper body and head in a horizontal plane and with both his hands (neither with closed fists) in a position to be able to engage and grapple with the other player around his torso (about the level of the shoulder blades).

“As the Player entered the ruck, and immediately before he engaged with the other player, that other player was in a head down, bottom up, position facing in the direction of the Player. At the very last moment the other player dropped down on his knees (possibly, in part, as a result of the actions of other players), and brought his upper body, shoulders and head up, directly into the line of the committed Squire.

“The resulting impact between the two, which was not of significant force (and did not require any HIA), was virtually instantaneous. In these circumstances, the citing was not made out on the evidence.”

“The player is therefore free to play.”

Tell us what you think about the Rugby World Cup and you could win £100

Join our mailing list and get news, highlights and more every week!

Thanks for joining our mailing list.
Liam Squire citing dropped on eve of All Blacks series