The early anticipated clash between Johnny Sexton and Joey Carbery will have to wait.


Sexton isn’t in Leinster’s matchday squad for Saturday’s game at the Aviva Stadium, with one eye clearly on their Heineken Champions Cup opener against Wasps which follows six days later.

Ross Byrne, who was Leo Cullen’s preferred back-up at 10 at Leinster last season instead of Carbery, will once again line up at outhalf.

Continue reading below…
Watch: Sexton discusses Champions Cup and Conor Murray

Video Spacer

Munster three changes to the side that secured a record PRO14 win over Ulster last weekend at Thomond Park.

Jean Kleyn comes into the second row in the only change to the pack with Darren Sweetnam and Sammy Arnold joining the backline.

Andrew Conway is set to make his 100th Munster appearance in the clash.


Peter O’Mahony captains the side in an unchanged back-row with two-try Tommy O’Donnell and CJ Stander keeping their places.

Conway starts at full-back with Sweetnam and Keith Earls on either flank.

Dan Goggin, a standout in the Ulster win with a two-try performance, is joined by Arnold in the centres.

The half-back pairing is unchanged as Joey Carbery is partnered by Alby Mathewson.


Front row trio Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer are also retained with Kleyn coming in to partner Tadhg Beirne in the engine room.

Rob Kearney is set to win his 200th cap for Leinster. He made his debut in September 2005 away to the Ospreys scoring a try in a 22-20 loss.

Since then he has become one of the most decorated players in Irish rugby with 199 Leinster caps, 86 Ireland caps and eight caps for the British & Irish Lions.

It could also be a very special day for Luke McGrath who has been named among the replacements and is due to win cap 100 if introduced.

With Kearney in the number 15 jersey, Fergus McFadden is on the right wing with James Lowe on the left.

Robbie Henshaw and Rory O’Loughlin are selected in the centre with Jamison Gibson-Park and Ross Byrne in the half backs.

Jack McGrath makes his first appearance of the season at loose head prop having recovered from a knee injury. James Tracy and Michael Bent complete the front row.

Devin Toner becomes the third highest capped Leinster player of all time as he wins cap 222 in the second row with James Ryan beside him.

Rhys Ruddock captain the side from the back row with Dan Leavy and Seán O’Brien completing the pack.

Munster: 15. Andrew Conway; 14. Darren Sweetnam, 13. Sammy Arnold, 12. Dan Goggin, 11. Keith Earls; 10. Joey Carbery, 9. Alby Mathewson; 1. Dave Kilcoyne, 2. Niall Scannell, 3. Stephen Archer; 4. Jean Kleyn, 5. Tadhg Beirne; 6. Peter O’Mahony (C), 7. Tommy O’Donnell,8. CJ Stander.

Replacements: 16. Kevin O’Byrne, 17. James Cronin, 18. Ciaran Parker, 19. Billy Holland, 20. Chris Cloete, 21. Duncan Williams, 22. JJ Hanrahan, 23. Rory Scannell.

Leinster: 15. Rob Kearney; 14. Fergus McFadden, 13. Rory O’Loughlin, 12. Robbie Henshaw 11. James Lowe; 10. Ross Byrne 9. Jamison Gibson-Park; 1. Jack McGrath 2. James Tracy 3. Michael Bent; 4. Devin Toner 5. James Ryan; 6. Rhys Ruddock (C) 7. Dan Leavy 8. Seán O’Brien

Replacements: 16. Seán Cronin, 17. Cian Healy, 18. Andrew Porter, 19. Mick Kearney, 20. Josh van der Flier, 21. Luke McGrath 22. Noel Reid 23. Dave Kearney

Watch: Munster captain Peter O’Mahony on Champions Cup

Video Spacer

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now