Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Scotland draft 2 players to Six Nations squad after Adam Hastings withdrawal

Adam Hastings of Gloucester Rugby receives treatment during the EPCR Challenge Cup match between Gloucester Rugby and Castres Olympique at Kingsholm Stadium on January 19, 2024 in Gloucester, England. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

Javan Sebastian and Ross Thompson have been have been added to the Scotland squad ahead of Saturday’s Six Nations opener away to Wales.


Edinburgh prop Sebastian was not included in the initial 39-man pool, named earlier this month, as he battled to recover from a knee injury sustained in December.

However, the 29-year-old – who went to the World Cup with Scotland – has now been deemed fit enough to be enlisted for duty after his fellow tighthead and clubmate WP Nel withdrew with a neck strain.

Glasgow stand-off Thompson has also been called up to compete with Finn Russell and Ben Healy for the number 10 jersey after Adam Hastings dropped out through injury last week.

Warriors pair Euan Ferrie and Jamie Dobie are not officially part of the squad but are currently training with the players in Spain as they step up preparations for Saturday’s showdown with Wales in Cardiff.


Ewan Ashman – Edinburgh Rugby (12)
Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby (5)
Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors (34)
Andy Christie – Saracens (4)
Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby (7)
Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors (33)
Jack Dempsey – Glasgow Warriors (15)
Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors (15) CO-CAPTAIN
Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby (68)
Richie Gray – Glasgow Warriors (78)
Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (40)
Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (62)
Alec Hepburn – Exeter Chiefs (uncapped)
Johnny Matthews – Glasgow Warriors (1)
Elliot Millar-Mills – Northampton Saints (uncapped)
WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby (61)
Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby (46)
Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby (26)
Javan Sebastian – Edinburgh Rugby (7)
Sam Skinner – Edinburgh Rugby (30)
George Turner – Glasgow Warriors (40)
Glen Young – Edinburgh Rugby (3)

Ben Healy – Edinburgh Rugby (4)
George Horne – Glasgow Warriors (26)
Rory Hutchinson – Northampton Saints (8)
Huw Jones – Glasgow Warriors (43)
Blair Kinghorn – Toulouse (50)
Stafford McDowall – Glasgow Warriors (1)
Ross McCann – Great Britain Sevens (uncapped)
Harry Paterson – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped)
Ali Price – Edinburgh Rugby (66)
Cameron Redpath – Bath Rugby (9)
Arron Reed – Sale Sharks (uncapped)
Kyle Rowe – Glasgow Warriors (1)
Finn Russell – Bath Rugby (75) CO-CAPTAIN
Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (15)
Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors (3)
Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors (22)
Duhan van der Merwe – Edinburgh Rugby (34)
Ben White – Toulon (18)




Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE How England can shatter the All Blacks' Eden Park streak How England can shatter the All Blacks' Eden Park streak