Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Rhys Carre: 'I've stopped trying to be someone I'm not'

The gainline-busting Cardiff Rugby loosehead has been one of the form players in the URC and he wants his opportunity with Wales

RugbyPass+ Home

Jake White's Bulls up to third after bossing Sharks

Bulls' Marcel Coetzee (captain) (2ndR) celebrates his try with teammates during the United Rugby Championship (URC) match between South African teams The Bulls from Pretoria and The Sharks from Durban at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria on October 30, 2022. (Photo by Phill Magakoe / AFP) (Photo by PHILL MAGAKOE/AFP via Getty Images)

Vodacom Bulls climbed to third place in the United Rugby Championship after holding off a Cell C Sharks fightback to record a pulsating 40-27 bonus-point win in Pretoria.


Tries from Marcell Coetzee, Embrose Papier, Stravino Jacobs and Jan-Hendrik Wessels, plus 20 points from the boot of fly-half Chris Smith, earned the Bulls bragging rights over their South African rivals.

The Sharks overturned a 13-point deficit to briefly lead the derby but scores from Marnus Potgieter, Aphelele Fassi and Phepsi Buthelezi ultimately proved insufficient for victory at Loftus Versfeld Stadium.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

A scrappy opening period burst into life just before the interval when David Kriel broke clear to give Coetzee a simple, diving finish under the posts, before Potgieter danced through the home defence at the other end minutes later.

The Sharks, who trailed 16-10 at the break, capitalised on the shift in momentum to briefly lead early in the second period after Fassi crossed following quick ball from right to left and fly-half Boeta Chamberlain, who contributed 12 points across the afternoon, added the extras.

But it proved short-lived as superb quick-fire scores from Papier and fellow replacement Jacobs took the game away from the Durban side, before Wessels added extra gloss, prior to Buthelezi’s late consolation.

BULLS: 1. Gerhard Steenekamp, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 3. Francois Klopper, 4. Walt Steenkamp, 5. Ruan Nortje, 6. Marcell Coetzee (C), 7. Marco van Staden, 8. WJ Steenkamp, 9. Zak Burger, 10. Chris Smith, 11. Sbu Nkosi, 12. Harold Vorster, 13. Cornal Hendricks, 14. David Kriel, 15. Johan Goosen


REPLACEMENTS: 16. Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17. Simphiwe Matanzima, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. Ruan Vermaak, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Stravino Jacobs, 23. Wandisile Simelane


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Dave Cherry: 'If I see lads wasting an opportunity, I have a word' Dave Cherry: 'If I see lads wasting an opportunity, I have a word'