Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



The French connection

From Bod’s hat-trick to Sexton’s drop-goal, no opponent has defined this Irish rugby century quite like France

RugbyPass+ Home

Harlequins confirm 25 of their 2018/19 squad and 12 who are leaving

By Online Editors

After a number of tumultuous weeks at the Premiership club, Harlequins have released a list of 25 players that are committed to the west London outfit for next season, including five new signings.


They have also listed 12 player departures, which includes 10 players who are leaving the club and two who are retiring.

Players not included in the list of 25 re-signees include – among others – Danny Care, Kyle Sinckler, Mike Brown, Ross Chisholm, Alofa Alofa, Jack Clifford, Mat Luamanu, Luke Wallace and Charlie Walker; many of whom are serving out existing contracts of unspecified lengths, although which contracts terminate at the end of this season is not completely clear.

In a statement this evening, the club report: “Adding international class to an already stellar backs division, centre Ben Tapuai joins from Bath and Nathan Earle from Saracens. In the forwards, Max Crumpton (Bristol Rugby) has already arrived at the club, with Nick Auterac (Bath) and Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Met) soon set to provide further competition in the pack.”

“The Club is also delighted to announce that Chris Robshaw, James Horwill, Joe Marler, Marcus Smith and Tim Visser have signed new contracts along with 15 others.”

“Meanwhile the much-anticipated return of Renaldo Bothma from a broken arm next season will provide a huge boost to the side, after a frustrating first year at the Club. Similarly, Demetri Catrakilis and Francis Saili will be raring to go after injuries severely disrupted 2017/18, limiting both to just a handful of appearances.”

“Harlequins also has some goodbyes to make as players embark on the next step of their journeys. The Club acknowledges and applauds the immense contributions of hooker Joe Gray and second rows Sam Twomey and Charlie Matthews, wishing them well for the future.”


“In addition we thank Jamie Roberts, Charlie Piper and Harry Sloan for their service and wish them good luck with their careers. The Club also thanks Sam Aspland-Robinson, Jake Hennessey, Cameron Holenstein and John Okafor for all they have done during their time with us.”

“Harlequins also pays tribute to two players who have announced their retirements from playing this season. We are very grateful to Winston Stanley, who retired on medical grounds, while the Club is also delighted that Adam Jones will be joining the coaching staff full-time next season.”

The club say that “Any further signings will be announced at the appropriate time.”

Harlequins Squad Update



Marcus Smith
Tim Visser
Chris Robshaw
James Horwill
Joe Marler
Dave Ward
Joe Marchant
Will Collier
Rob Buchanan
Stan South
Charlie Mulchrone
James Lang
Aaron Morris
Archie White
Dino Lamb
Gabriel Ibitoye
Henry Cheeseman
Josh McNulty
Josh Ibuanokpe
Calum Waters

New Signings for 2018/19

Ben Tapuai
Nathan Earle
Nick Auterac
Alex Dombrandt
Max Crumpton

Players leaving at the end of the 2017/18 season

Sam Aspland
Joe Gray
Cameron Holenstein
Jake Hennessey
Charlie Matthews
John Okafor
Charlie Piper
Jamie Roberts
Harry Sloan
Sam Twomey


Adam Jones – appointed as Assistant Forwards Coach
Winston Stanley

Watch episode one of the Rugby Explorer with Big Jim Hamilton

Ex-Scotland international, Jim Hamilton, travels to Singapore to explore the city and find out more about the rugby scene in the Southeast Asian country. He meets up with the national team captain and several local players.

Video Spacer


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Clive Woodward's damning 'world's biggest pub' Twickenham verdict Clive Woodward's damning 'world's biggest pub' Twickenham verdict