Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Giant prop to face his former side as Glasgow name 32-man squad for SA

By Rugby365
Oli Kebble

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Glasgow Warriors have named a squad of 32 players to travel to South Africa for this month’s crucial United Rugby Championship double-header, the first visit by the club to the Rainbow Nation since 2019.


Danny Wilson’s men depart from Glasgow Airport on Monday 18 ahead of Friday’s clash with the Stormers at Newlands in Cape Town, before facing the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria a week later.

It will be the first time Glasgow Warriors have faced either franchise, having earned victories over the Sharks and Lions at Scotstoun earlier this season.

Video Spacer

The Honey Badger – Nick Cummins joins Ryan and Max – RugbyPass Offload – Episode 29
Video Spacer
The Honey Badger – Nick Cummins joins Ryan and Max – RugbyPass Offload – Episode 29

In total, 17 Scotland internationals will board the plane to South Africa, including the Player of the Match from Friday’s win over Newcastle Falcons in the form of Kyle Steyn.

Further international experience is provided in the form of Jack Dempsey and Domingo Miotti, as well as Scotland 7s veterans Robbie Fergusson and Ally Miller.

Scottish Rugby Academy second-rower Max Williamson also travels with the squad, and would make his Glasgow Warriors debut if called onto the field in either of the two fixtures.

Co-captains Ryan Wilson and Fraser Brown lead the travelling party, with a win in either match guaranteeing Glasgow’s place in the URC knockout stages.


Forwards: Simon Berghan, Jamie Bhatti, Fraser Brown, Rory Darge, Jack Dempsey, Zander Fagerson, Thomas Gordon, Richie Gray, Rob Harley, Oli Kebble, Johnny Matthews, Nathan McBeth, Kiran McDonald, Ally Miller, George Turner, Murphy Walker, Max Williamson, Ryan Wilson.

Backs: Jamie Dobie, Robbie Fergusson, Cole Forbes, Sam Johnson, Sean Kennedy, Stafford McDowall, Josh McKay, Domingo Miotti, Ali Price, Ollie Smith, Kyle Steyn, Ross Thompson, Sione Tuipulotu, Duncan Weir.


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Ireland handed emphatic tour-opening defeat by Maori All Blacks Maori All Blacks thump Ireland