Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Welsh rugby enveloped in its latest existential crisis

As Wayne Pivac teeters on the edge of finding new gainful employment after a series of disappointing results, the wider-lens story tells of dysfunction and frustration

RugbyPass+ Home

Evan Roos voted URC fans 'Player of the Season'

By Kim Ekin
Evan Roos Photo Credit: Inpho Photography

Stormers looseforward Evan Roos has been voted the United Rugby Championship (URC) fans ‘Player of the Season’.


It’s Roos’ third end of season gong following the inaugural United Rugby Championship Awards. The No.8 – who has just earned a Springboks call up – has already been named Next-Gen Player of the Season, as well as earning a place in the Dream Team.

This newest award, which was decided by a public vote, is a monument to the 22-year-exceptional old’s achievements during the season, which have clearly captured the attention of URC fans all around the globe.

Video Spacer

Jake White speaks about getting the Bulls to be consistently the best
Video Spacer
Jake White speaks about getting the Bulls to be consistently the best

Over the 18 matches of the regular season, Roos has been a standout for the Cape Town side, proving himself a dangerous ball carrier with more successful carries (126) and defenders defeated (49) than any other player in the tournament.

He’s taken that form into the play-offs, scoring a try against Ulster in the Final Four and winning the Vodacom Man of the Match award when the DHL Stormers beat Edinburgh Rugby in the Final Eight.

After being picked in the Springboks team for next month’s home series against Wales, Roos’ URC performances appear to be paving the way for an immediate Test debut.

The DHL Stormers had a good showing in the URC Awards, with Leolin Zas taking home the Top Try Scorer award and five players from the franchise making the Dream Team.


The remaining two awards – Loch Lomond Coach of the Season and Players’ Player of the Season – will be announced later this week.

URC Awards Winner List 2021-22

Tackle Machine: Alan O’Connor (Ulster)

Turnover King: Jac Morgan (Ospreys)


Gilbert Golden Boot: Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys)

Top Try Scorer: Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)

Ironman: Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)

Next-Gen Player of the Season: Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)

Vodacom Fans’ Player of the Season: Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)

Dream Team: Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers), Seabelo Senatla (DHL Stormers), James Hume (Ulster), Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers), Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers), Ross Byrne (Leinster), Craig Casey (Munster); Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks), Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls), Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks), Jean Kleyn (Munster), Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls), Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls), Nick Timoney (Ulster), Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Gareth Thomas: 'This game means everything. We have to leave it all out there.'