Unlock premium content and more with all-new RugbyPass+ Unlock Premium with RugbyPass+
Close Notice

England U20's make 3 changes to team as centre Redpath hit with biting ban

By Online Editors
Cameron Redpath in action against Ireland and World Rugby U20 Championship. (Photo by Amilcar Orfali/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

England U20s head coach Steve Bates has made three changes to his side to face Wales in their fifth-place playoff on Saturday.


One of those was enforced with Luke James replacing the suspended Cameron Redpath at inside centre, after he was hit with a ban for biting.

The Sale Sharks centre was sanctioned after he admitted biting Ireland hooker Dylan Tierney-Martin during their fifth-place semi-final playoff at the World Rugby Under 20 Championship on Tuesday, which England won 30-23 thanks to a late try.

The other two changes to the England side sees James Kenny named at loosehead prop while Tom Willis comes in at number eight.

Redpath, son of former Scotland scrum half Bryan, is the second English player to pick up a length suspension during the tournament after Alfie Barbeary was given a five week ban for a dangerous tackle on Irish flanker John Hodnett, which earned the hooker a straight red card during a pool stage match earlier in the competition, a match which Ireland went on to win 43-26.

Redpath appeared before a committee comprised of former Munster lock John Langford, ex-Scotland international Sarah Smith and Canada’s Alan Hudson which heard evidence from hooker Tierney-Martin and the Ireland doctor.


Redpath was cited under Law 9.12 and the player accepted the offence, with the committee ruling it was a low-end offence.

The entry-point suspension is 12 weeks, however it was halved because of his “previously clean record, early acceptance of his conduct, apology, youth and inexperience.”

England U20s v Wales U20s

15. Tom de Glanville (Bath Rugby)
14. Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints)
13. Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints) – captain
12. Luke James (Sale Sharks)
11. Josh Hodge (Newcastle Falcons)
10. Manu Vunipola (Saracens)
9. Sam Maunder (Exeter Chiefs)
1. James Kenny (Exeter Chiefs)
2. Will Capon (Bristol Bears)
3. Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)
4. Joel Kpoku (Saracens)
5. Alex Coles (Northampton Saints)
6. Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)
7. Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester Rugby)
8. Tom Willis (Wasps Rugby)


16. Nic Dolly (Sale Sharks)
17. Olly Adkins (Gloucester Rugby)
18. Alfie Petch (Exeter Chiefs)
19. Kai Owen (Worcester Warriors)
20. Rusiate Tuima (Exeter Chiefs)
21. Richard Capstick (Exeter Chiefs)
22. Ollie Fox (Yorkshire Carnegie)
23. Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby)
24. Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish)
25. Connor Doherty (Sale Sharks)


Join RugbyPass+ now and be apart of the conversation with all-new commenting!

Join Now