Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

England release ten players


England release ten players ahead of clash with Ireland

England have retained 25 players to continue their preparations for their Guinness Six Nations match again Ireland in Dublin on 2 February 2019.

The two big injury blows for Jones are Ben Te’o and Brad Shields with side strainss.

Neither men were involved in Tuesday’s training session but will remain with the squad to continue their reconditioning until Thursday when the team travel to Dublin.

Shields pulled out of Wasps’ recent Heineken Champions Cup game with Leinster at the Ricoh because of a side strain but travelled to the Algarve to join up with the England squad.

Shields was not involved in training on Tuesday prompting fears he would not be fit in time to make the game at the Aviva Stadium.

The former Hurricanes captain broke into the England squad for the June tour of South Africa and can operate at lock or in the backrow.

He was first choice blindside flanker during the November internationals for matches against South Africa, New Zealand and Australia.

The biggest casualties to drop out are Leicester prop Dan Cole and Bath centre Jonathan Joseph. With Te’o also out it looks increasingly likely that Henry Slade and Manu Tuilagi are in pole position to be named in the centre, unless Eddie Jones elects to put Elliot Daly in there which would mean a potential recall for Mike Brown at full-back.

The ten players to drop out are: Dan Cole, Ben Earl, Ben Moon, Brad Shields, Jack Singleton, Joe Cokanasiga, Ollie Devoto, Jonathan Joseph, Ben T’eo and Ollie Thorley.

Video Spacer

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens) captain
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Dan Robson (Wasps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

England release ten players ahead of clash with Ireland
Search Loading