Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Where Warren Gatland's Wales are poised to do the most damage

The best single unit in the Wales side is the formidable back row.

RugbyPass+ Home

Australia Sevens squads named for Sydney series

By Kim Ekin
(Photo by Christopher Pike/Getty Images)

The reigning World Series champions have confirmed their squads for this week’s HSBC Sydney 7s at Allianz Stadium.


The Australian Sevens teams are hoping for a repeat of the results from 2018, where both sides brought home the trophy – and the Women’s team did not concede a single point to their opponents.

“Our objective for the HSBC Sydney 7s is to perform to the best of our ability and enjoy the opportunity to entertain a home crowd,” said Tim Walsh, Head Coach of the Women’s team.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

“We have elite athletes who desire to be the best they can be – both mentally and physically – who want to represent rugby, sport and women with pride.

“These athletes embody our ethos: ‘Inspire, Innovate and Include’ by playing a game that flows like poetry, is ruthless and entertaining.

“Last week we played well, while adding depth and experience to the squad, and this week we are better for it.”

On Friday, the Women’s team will take on Brazil and Spain, and will face Ireland on Saturday in their final pool match.


The Men’s team will once again be captained by Henry Hutchison, as they compete against Great Britain on Friday, as well as Canada and Argentina on Saturday.

“It’ll be a massive weekend for our boys – we’re all really excited about playing in front of our family, friends, and Sydney’s rugby supporters,” said John Manenti, Head Coach of the Men’s team.

“There was plenty of belief in our performances in Hamilton and we look forward to building on that this weekend.

“We welcome the return of Darby Lancaster back into the squad, who has recovered from an injury and is now ready to go.


“The boys are keen to repeat the results of the 2018 Sydney 7s tournament – which was the only time in Sevens history that an Australian side has won in Sydney.”


Tickets are still available for the HSBC Sydney 7s tournament here, and matches will be broadcast live on beIN Sports, available via Foxtel, Kayo and beIN SPORTS CONNECT.


Women’s Sevens Squad
Lily Dick
Sharni Williams
Faith Nathan
Dominique Du Toit
Teagan Levi
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea
Charlotte Caslick (Cc)
Madison Ashby
Tia Hinds
Sariah Paki
Maddison Levi
Demi Hayes (Cc)
Bienne Terita

Men’s Sevens Squad
Henry Hutchison (C)
Stu Dunbar
Dietrich Roache
Tim Clements
Henry Paterson
Josh Turner
Dally Bird
Maurice Longbottom
Nathan Lawson
James Turner
Ben Marr
Darby Lancaster
Simon Kennewell

-Press Release/Rugby Australia


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Andy Goode: I don't agree with Borthwick's boldest selection call Sticking with Smith/Farrell is Borthwick’s boldest call