Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

11 new players included in Fiji squad for second Maori All Blacks clash

By Online Editors
Patrick Osborne. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Fiji head coach John McKee has named his 26-member extended Flying Fijians squad for the final Pacific Series test match against the Maori All Blacks in Rotorua this Saturday.


With so much depth in the squad, McKee will be traveling with 11 new players who were not part of the historic 27-10 win over their New Zealand counterparts last weekend in Suva.

“The plan has always been to give as many players as we can the opportunity across the first two games as a lead up into the Pacific Nations Cup,” McKee said.

He said it’s always good to test and judge the capability of the players against strong opponents

“We have got a number of players who probably got niggling injuries from the game but also some coming from Europe with minor injuries from the back end of the season and are on a rehabilitation programme.”

Luke Tagi, Joeli Veitayaki, Ratu Veremalua Vugakoto, Johnny Dyer, Mosese Voka, Frank Lomani and Serupepeli Vularika are the local players who have made it into McKee’s extended squad.

“It’s an opportunity for these players to step up and show what they can do as everyone in the squad is vying for position in the final squad for RWC2019,” McKee added.


He said the work plan for the week has been mapped out as they prepare for another tough Saturday match-up.

“The plan for this week will also see a couple of new combinations working together, learning on the mistakes we made in our first match against the Maori All Black  as we expect the second one to also be a really tough one.”

Flying Fijians 26 member squad:

  1. Lee-roy Atalifo
  2. Campese Ma’afu
  3. Peni Ravai
  4. Luke Tagi
  5. Kalivati Tawake
  6. Joeli Veitayaki
  7. Sam Matavesi
  8. Tuvere Vugakoto
  9. Api Ratuniyarawa
  10. Tevita Ratuva
  11. Albert Tuisue
  12. Johnny Dyer
  13. Nemani Nagusa
  14. Dominiko Waqaniburotu
  15. Mosese Voka
  16. Frank Lomani
  17. Henry Seniloli
  18. Serupepeli Vularika
  19. Josh Matavesi
  20. Alivereti Veitokani
  21. Sevanaia Galala
  22. Waisea Nayacalevu
  23. Jale Vatubua
  24. Kini Murimurivalu
  25. Filipo Nakosi
  26. Patrick Osbourne

In other news:

Video Spacer



Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ The making of Finn Russell The making of Finn Russell