Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

Watch: Stunning TMO blunder


Watch: The Wright call? TMO lets Northland get away with stunning try

A blown-out Mitre 10 Cup match has given fans a major talking point after a questionable refereeing decision was made during Northland’s 49-14 home victory over Manawatu.

Northland loose forward Kara Pryor had a length-of-the-field try awarded by TMO Llew Smart despite some dubious build-up.

Northland were able to turn upfield 10 metres from their own line after Matthew Wright secured a loose pass from Manawatu midfielder Rob Thompson. Wright was unable to do so cleanly, and it appeared as if the ball changed its course after coming into contact with the fullback’s hand. After a second attempt, Wright was able to scoop up the ball and find Pryor in space to do the rest of the work.

Wright’s bobbled first touch was looked at in slow motion an incredible eight times before Smart deemed there was insufficient evidence to overturn the try, and five points were awarded. Ultimately the decision didn’t affect the result as Pryor’s try was Nortland’s sixth, but one still has to ask….

Was the right call made?

In other news:

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Watch: The Wright call? TMO lets Northland get away with stunning try
Search Loading