Owen Farrell’s tackling technique has come under the microscope again after the England flyhalf launching a shoulder-leading tackle into the massive frame of Wallaby lock Izack Rodda, stopping the big man direct in his tracks.
Farrell himself ended up in the in-goal area after making contact around the five-metre line. The tackle saved a certain try just before halftime and the Wallabies opted to take three points after England were caught offside on the next phase.
Completely at a loss to explain how that Owen Farrell tackle hasn't been checked.
— Charlie Morgan (@CharlieFelix) November 24, 2018
I can’t believe that Owen Farrell did it again. No arms in a shoulder charge tackle. When will the IRB site this guy for it.
This is not in the spirit of the game.
— David Campese (@Davidcampese11) November 24, 2018
— Ruck 'n' Roll ???? (@RnRRugby) November 24, 2018
How has Jaco Peyper not seen that no arms, try saving tackle from Owen Farrell? #ENGvAUS
— Paul Cully (@paulcullystuff) November 24, 2018
Referee Jaco Peyper offered a bizarre interpretation as a reason why the Wallabies did not recieve a penalty or more, saying “I thought your player (ball carrier Izack Rodda) dropped a shoulder.”
Cheika labelled Peyper’s explanation as ‘ludicrous’ in the post-match press conference.
“To say he [Rodda] also dropped his shoulder is ludicrous.”
“Maybe we have to move Australia to the northern hemisphere, because after [Farrell’s] shoulder charge [against South Africa] we went to a meeting with the referees and the refs categorically told us it’s a penalty, so if that’s a penalty then that’s three penalties.
In other news:
Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.