Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Login
Logout
Show scores

Watch: Farrell clobbers Wallaby lock

Back

Watch: Owen Farrell clobbers Wallaby big man Rodda with 'shoulderous' tackle

Owen Farrell’s tackling technique has come under the microscope again after the England flyhalf launching a shoulder-leading tackle into the massive frame of Wallaby lock Izack Rodda, stopping the big man direct in his tracks.

Farrell himself ended up in the in-goal area after making contact around the five-metre line. The tackle saved a certain try just before halftime and the Wallabies opted to take three points after England were caught offside on the next phase.

Referee Jaco Peyper offered a bizarre interpretation as a reason why the Wallabies did not recieve a penalty or more, saying “I thought your player (ball carrier Izack Rodda) dropped a shoulder.”

Cheika labelled Peyper’s explanation as ‘ludicrous’ in the post-match press conference.

“To say he [Rodda] also dropped his shoulder is ludicrous.”

“Maybe we have to move Australia to the northern hemisphere, because after [Farrell’s] shoulder charge [against South Africa] we went to a meeting with the referees and the refs categorically told us it’s a penalty, so if that’s a penalty then that’s three penalties.

In other news:

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Watch: Owen Farrell clobbers Wallaby big man Rodda with 'shoulderous' tackle
Search Loading