Show scores
PRO 14    

Two Leinster players sent home

PRO 14    

Two Leinster players sent home from South Africa

The two Leinster players who were earlier today stopped by South African authorities from entering the country are now to be sent home.

Isa Nacewa and Jamison Gibson-Park encountered what were termed ‘visa issues’ this morning in Johannesburg, and this evening Leinster have confirmed that the pair will now return to Ireland.

The Dublin based team are refusing however to elaborate on the exact reasons for the denial of entry. The Irish Times have reported that the entry refusal is due to new visa regulations for New Zealand citizens entering South Africa.

Both Nacewa and Gibson-Park are New Zealand nationals.

Leinster play the Southern Kings on Saturday in Port Elizabeth and the Toyota Cheetahs on Friday week in Bloemfontein in Rounds 3 and 4 of the Guinness PRO14.

In a statement issued this evening Leinster said: “Leinster Rugby can confirm that both Jamison Gibson-Park and Isa Nacewa have not been granted a visa at this point in time and will as a result return to Dublin at the earliest opportunity.

“Nick McCarthy has been called up to the touring squad as a result and will arrive tomorrow.

“Leinster Rugby will be making no further comment on this matter.”

A Leinster statement early today read: “Leinster Rugby can confirm that two members of the touring squad to South Africa, Isa Nacewa and Jamison Gibson-Park, encountered visa issues this morning upon arrival in Johannesburg.

“As this process is still ongoing, Leinster Rugby will be making no further statement.”

Earlier in the week head coach Leo Cullen confirmed that Devin Toner and Scott Fardy were not considered for selection as their wives are expecting their first child in the next few weeks.

Leinster Rugby Squad to Tour South Africa – Leinster Caps in Brackets:

1. Michael Bent (89)
2. Adam Byrne (26)
3. Ed Byrne (9)
4. Ross Byrne (25)
5. Joey Carbery (23)
6. Jack Conan (53)
7. Seán Cronin (130)
8. Barry Daly (12)
9. Max Deegan (4)
10. Peter Dooley (38)
11. Dave Kearney (111)
12. Jamison Gibson-Park (30)
13. Cian Healy (174)
14. Mick Kearney (22)
15. Jordan Larmour (2)
16. Cathal Marsh (20)
17. Ross Molony (45)
18. Jordi Murphy (86)
19. Rory O’Loughlin (23)
20. Fergus McFadden (152)
21. Luke McGrath (76)
22. Isa Nacewa (172)
23. Andrew Porter (10)
24. Noel Reid (82)
25. Rhys Ruddock (132)
26. James Ryan (1)
27. James Tracy (44)
28. Josh van der Flier (48)

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Two Leinster players sent home from South Africa