Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World
NZ NZ
Back

Two Hurricanes warned for foul play against Pocock

By Online Editors

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Hurricanes Julian Savea and Gareth Evans have both been issued warnings following their loss against the Brumbies last night.

ADVERTISEMENT

Both incidents took place less than ten minutes from each other, both went unsanctioned during play and both involved Wallaby David Pocock.

Number Eight Evans was ruled to have contravened Law 9.20 and was warned for making contact above the shoulders of his Brumbies opponent Pocock.

Upon further review he appeared to perform a neck roll in clearing Pocock from a ruck.

Winger Julian Savea was also warned for a reckless play – violating law 9.11 – where he lifted Pocock above horizontal when he flipped the Wallaby over clearing him from a ruck.

Video Spacer

A warning may be issued by the SANZAAR Citing Commissioner for foul play incidents that are very close to, but in his opinion do not meet the Red Card threshold for citings.

ADVERTISEMENT

Upon further review of the match footage the Citing Commissioner deemed a Warning was appropriate.

After a near perfect start, the eventual 24-12 loss was the Hurricanes’ third in a row, while the Brumbies victory was their fourth in succession.

Despite their recent runs, the Hurricanes still sit fourth in the standings while the Brumbies need a few results to fall their way to have a chance at making the playoffs.

Video Spacer
ADVERTISEMENT

Comments

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
ADVERTISEMENT
RUGBYPASS+
RUGBYPASS+ Franco Smith: 'I chose to go to hard places but Glasgow is different' Franco Smith: 'I chose to go to hard places but Glasgow is different'
Search