MATCH
CENTRE
All fixtures and scores here!
Login
Logout
Show scores

Two Hurricanes warned for foul play against Pocock

Back

Two Hurricanes warned for foul play against Pocock

Hurricanes Julian Savea and Gareth Evans have both been issued warnings following their loss against the Brumbies last night.

Both incidents took place less than ten minutes from each other, both went unsanctioned during play and both involved Wallaby David Pocock.

Number Eight Evans was ruled to have contravened Law 9.20 and was warned for making contact above the shoulders of his Brumbies opponent Pocock.

Upon further review he appeared to perform a neck roll in clearing Pocock from a ruck.

Winger Julian Savea was also warned for a reckless play – violating law 9.11 – where he lifted Pocock above horizontal when he flipped the Wallaby over clearing him from a ruck.

Video Spacer

A warning may be issued by the SANZAAR Citing Commissioner for foul play incidents that are very close to, but in his opinion do not meet the Red Card threshold for citings.

Upon further review of the match footage the Citing Commissioner deemed a Warning was appropriate.

After a near perfect start, the eventual 24-12 loss was the Hurricanes’ third in a row, while the Brumbies victory was their fourth in succession.

Despite their recent runs, the Hurricanes still sit fourth in the standings while the Brumbies need a few results to fall their way to have a chance at making the playoffs.

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Join our mailing list and get news, highlights and more every week!

Thanks for joining our mailing list.
Two Hurricanes warned for foul play against Pocock