Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Stormers pair notch milestones

Two key members of the Stormers will reach significant milestones when they host the Bulls at Newlands on Saturday.


They also have two players returning from long-term injuries.

Captain Siya Kolisi will play his 100th Super Rugby game for the Stormers when he leads the team out to face the Bulls. The match is set to be a double milestone celebration for the Stormers, with hooker Siyabonga Ntubeni in line to earn his 50th cap when he comes off the replacements bench.

The Stormers forward pack remains unchanged for the Super Rugby derby, while there are two positional changes in the starting backline – with JJ Engelbrecht shifting to outside centre and Dillyn Leyds on the wing.

As a result Sarel Marais comes in at fullback and Raymond Rhule is back on the wing.

There are two new faces on the replacements bench, with prop Frans Malherbe and flyhalf Jean-Luc du Plessis both making their return following long-term injuries.

For John Mitchell’s Bulls, Andre Warner will start at scrumhalf in this crucial clash.

Cape Town-born Warner comes in for Ivan van Zyl, who will play off the bench.

The scrumhalf started the first four matches of the competition, before picking up an injury and has made some solid contributions off the bench since – including a try against the Rebels two weeks ago.


A number of players have been bracketed in a provisional team – the final selection depended on late fitness tests.

Adriaan Strauss will extend his South African record for Super Rugby matches to 153.


15. SP Marais, 14. Dillyn Leyds, 13. JJ Engelbrecht, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Damian Willemse, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7. Kobus van Dyk, 6. Siya Kolisi (C), 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Chris van Zyl, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Ramone Samuels, 1. Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16. Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17. Jacobus Janse van Rensburg, 18. Frans Malherbe, 19. Cobus Wiese, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Paul de Wet, 22. Jean-Luc du Plessis, 23. Seabelo Senatla.


15. Warrick Gelant, 14. Johnny Kotze, 13. Jesse Kriel, 12. Burger Odendaal (C), 11. Divan Rossouw/Travis Ismaiel, 10. Handre Pollard, 9. Andre Warner, 8. Thembelani Bholi/Marco van Staden, 7. Jason Jenkins/Thembelani Bholi, 6. Marco van Staden/Roelof Smit, 5. Lodewyk de Jager, 4. RG Snyman, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 2. Adriaan Strauss, 1. Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: 16. Jaco Visagie, 17. Frans van Wyk/Nqobisiwe Mxoli, 18. Conrad van Vuuren, 19. Hendre Stassen/Roelof Smit, 20. Ivan van Zyl, 21. Manie Libbok, 22-23. Divan Rossouw/Travis Ismaiel.


You may also enjoy:

Video Spacer

Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Frans Steyn makes waves with response to Israel Dagg comments Frans Steyn makes waves with response to Israel Dagg comments