Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Rugby World Cup 2025 host cities and venues confirmed

By Lucy Lomax
LONDON, ENGLAND - APRIL 29: Marlie Packer of England and teammates celebrate with the TikTok Women's Six Nations trophy following the TikTok Women's Six Nations match between England and France at Twickenham Stadium on April 29, 2023 in London, England. (Photo by Catherine Ivill - RFU/The RFU Collection via Getty Images)

World Rugby and the RFU have confirmed the host cities and venues with two years to go until the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025.


The tenth edition of the women’s global tournament is set to take place between 22nd August and 27th September 2025 with the selection of cities and venues, representing the core vision to create a celebration of women’s rugby across England.

With the tournament due to host its biggest ever allocation of competing teams, increasing from 12 to 16, it is set to be the biggest-ever celebration of women’s rugby the game has ever seen.

Following a competitive selection process, eight venues and cities have been chosen by World Rugby and the RFU including:

Brighton and Hove – Brighton and Hove Albion Stadium

Bristol – Ashton Gate

Exeter – Sandy Park

London – Twickenham Stadium

Manchester – Salford Community Stadium (*subject to final confirmation)

Northampton – Franklin’s Gardens

Sunderland – Stadium of Light

York – York Community Stadium

While the full match schedule and ticketing details will be announced next year, the milestone two-year celebration and confirmation of dates and venues provides the ability for fans across England to start to plan their Rugby World Cup 2025 experience.

Independent Chair of the Rugby World Cup 2025 Board of Directors, Gill Whitehead, said: “Rugby World Cup 2025 represents the beginning of an exciting new future for Rugby World Cups as the first event to be held under a new delivery model with World Rugby and the RFU in partnership, working alongside the UK Government and we look forward to working together closely over the next two years.


“The host cities and venues have been selected with accessibility in mind. No matter where you live in England, you should be within reach of a match. All the cities selected have demonstrated they share the same passion for the tournament and are committed in joining us on our mission to deliver the biggest and best women’s Rugby World Cup yet.”

Canada, England, France and New Zealand have already qualified for Rugby World Cup 2025 after finishing in the top four of RWC 2021, with the remaining positions to be filled via World Rugby’s new women’s international 15s tournament, WXV, and regional competitions in 2024.

A full venue guide can be found here.

  • Click here to register for the Rugby World Cup 2025 newsletter

Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Ross 325 days ago

The biggest con ever for the RWC to be played in England in 2025. New Zealand hosted in 2022 the first time ever that RWC has been hosted in the southern hemisphere which was the most successful RWC in terms of numbers attending and the outstanding games played. A subtle reminder is that NZ won 5 RWC in the northern hemisphere and the sixth in NZ. Expect the unexpected from NZ in 2025!

BeeJay 326 days ago

No Welford Road or Kingsholm?

Pecos 326 days ago

You just know the English are going to put on a stunner of a RWC2025. Can't wait.

Load More Comments

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Boks sail close to the wind as Irish resources face further test Boks sail close to the wind as Irish resources face further test