Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

New Zealand wins hosting rights for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021

(Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

The world’s best women rugby players are coming to New Zealand.

The World Rugby Executive Council has overnight awarded New Zealand the hosting rights for the Women’s Rugby World Cup in 2021 (WRWC2021).


Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said this is a proud moment for Kiwi’s and rugby fans all around the world,

“I’m hugely excited the event will be held here. New Zealand is the home of women’s rugby, the Black Ferns captured our imaginations again when they won their fifth World Cup title last year, and our entire country will get behind the tournament and all the teams participating in 2021.

“This Government is committed to more women and girls getting involved in sport, so we are enthusiastic supporters of bringing this elite women’s tournament to New Zealand and inspiring a new generation of women and girls to get involved in rugby.”

New Zealand Rugby (NZR) Board Member and former Black Ferns captain Dr Farah Palmer is delighted that New Zealand has been awarded the hosting rights for this pinnacle women’s rugby event and acknowledges the critical role of the New Zealand Government in supporting this bid,

“We are honoured and excited to be awarded the WRWC2021 and look forward to delivering the first Women’s Rugby World Cup tournament in the Southern Hemisphere.

“The New Zealand Government strongly supported the bid, with backing from MBIE, Auckland Tourism Events and Economic Development (ATEED) and Whangarei District Council.


“We are looking forward to working together to deliver a world-class tournament for players, officials, fans, commercial partners and spectators watching around the world.”

Five-time Women’s Rugby World Cup veteran and Black Ferns captain Fiao’o Faamausili, speaking from Grenoble in France, said hosting a World Cup in New Zealand will be very special.

“We have the opportunity to showcase the best of women’s rugby in front of the world’s best supporters. I know New Zealand will get behind this because the momentum behind the Black Ferns and women’s rugby is just growing and growing. I speak for all the Black Ferns and future Black Ferns out there that we can’t wait to be part of this celebration of rugby. We are all so thrilled.”

Auckland and Whangarei have been confirmed as the host cities, and this will be the first time that the WRWC has been played in the Southern Hemisphere. Under the plan matches will be played at Albany Stadium, Waitakere Stadium and Northland Events Centre, with Eden Park available for the semi final and final.


New Zealand’s bid was presented by Black Fern and NZR Board Member Farah Palmer, All Black and NZR Board Member Mark Robinson, NZR Chief Executive Steve Tew and they were joined by video by New Zealand’s Prime Minster, the Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern.

In other news:

Video Spacer

Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE 'Enmity and history as Munster and Glasgow collide with URC final spot at stake' 'Enmity and history as Munster and Glasgow collide with URC final spot at stake'