Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

New details of 'Super Round' released for Super Rugby's Trans-Tasman competition

(Photo by Albert Perez / Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium could host every Australian and New Zealand Super Rugby team over one weekend in a Trans-Tasman Super Round next year.


The draw for the combined 10-team competition, to be played after both countries contest their respective domestic competitions, was released on Monday.

A five-round fixture from May 14 will culminate in a June 19 final, while all sides will play games in one location over one weekend – Friday and Saturday, May 28-29.

Video Spacer

James Lowe’s journey from New Zealand Maoris to Irish Rugby | Rugby Offload
Video Spacer
James Lowe’s journey from New Zealand Maoris to Irish Rugby | Rugby Offload

The location is yet to be announced although Suncorp Stadium, which has held the NRL’s equivalent initiative in recent years, is free of rugby league action on those dates.

Rugby Australia boss Rob Clarke said a host selection process for the Super Round will begin shortly.

Regardless, all teams will play at least two home games and two away games, with all 26 matches available live on Stan and one per round shown on the Nine Network.

“The confirmation of the draw is another step in the right direction for our game and it’s exciting to see all the pieces come together,” Clarke said.


“It’s a brand-new competition which will generate renewed excitement and re-ignite many historic rivalries.

“The Super Round is a fantastic and innovative addition; we will shortly be launching a host selection process and I have no doubt it will become one of the hottest tickets in town.”

Super Rugby Trans-Tasman Draw

Round One


* Highlanders v Queensland Reds, NSW Waratahs v Hurricanes (Friday May 14)

* Crusaders v Brumbies, Melbourne Rebels v Blues, Western Force v Chiefs (Saturday May 15)

Round Two

* Hurricanes v Melbourne Rebels, Western Force v Highlanders (Friday May 21)

* Blues v NSW Waratahs, Chiefs v Brumbies, Queensland Reds v Crusaders (Saturday May 22)

Round Three

* Brumbies v Blues, Hurricanes v Western Force, Melbourne Rebels v Highlanders, Queensland Reds v Chiefs, NSW Waratahs v Crusaders (Super Round TBC)

Round Four

* Crusaders v Western Force, Queensland Reds v Blues (Friday June 4)

* Chiefs v Melbourne Rebels, Highlanders v NSW Waratahs, Brumbies v Hurricanes (Saturday June 5)

Round Five

* Hurricanes v Queensland Reds, Brumbies v Highlanders (Friday June 11)

* Melbourne Rebels v Crusaders, Blues v Western Force, NSW Waratahs v Chiefs (Saturday June 12)


Saturday June 19


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free