The decision to red-card Tomas Lavanini was a fair and just decision under the letter of the law but it is the non-calls against England that have left fans questioning Nigel Owens in the wake of England’s runaway 39-10 win that all but ends Argentina’s World Cup.
Referee Nigel Owens misjudged the initial high tackle on Owen Farrell, explaining to players ‘Play on, no foul play for me’ before it was reviewed by the TMO two minutes later at the next stoppage.
@DrJN_SportsMed Nigel Owens. Great ref but likes limelight ? Strange to shout “ no foul play “ when Farrell hit and only yards away. If he didn’t see it why shout anything ? ?
— Puresportsdoc (@burdon_mike) October 5, 2019
Following a second look, Owens judged that a red card was necessary with no mitigating factors for the high shot.
Speaking on ITV former England coach Clive Woodward was puzzled by Owens decision to let play on following the Lavanini tackle
“Nigel Owens saw it live and said ‘it’s fine, it’s fine’. So if you haven’t got the TMO everyone would have just carried on,” he said.
“I don’t think any Argentinian can complain about that. It was a red card and a very simple decision but why didn’t Owens see it in the first place?”
Continue reading below…
The decision to send Lavanini off in the 17th minute was always going to swing the match hugely in England’s favour with Argentina fighting on with 14-men for the majority of the match.
However, the leniency shown by Owens towards England’s own infringements brings into question whether they were given preferential treatment.
As England piled on infringements early in the match, Owens explained to captain Owen Farrell each penalty including a ‘no-arms tackle by Kyle Sinckler’ on an Argentinian player. This warranted nothing more than a warning and a penalty without a review of the tackle.
Uncharacteristically bad day at office for Nigel Owens
Missed potential leg breaker by Sinkler
Missed red card initially. Thankfully TMO awake
Clearly deliberate tackle in the air waved off as just a penalty#ENGvARG
— Micheál O'Flaherty (@miguelgarcia65) October 5, 2019
England should have two yellow cards in this opening 24mins #ENGvARG
— Gordon D'Arcy (@Gordonwdarcy) October 5, 2019
Pity to see it but Nigel continues the ref issues at #RWC2019 Side expected to win getting all the decisions! ? England should have 2 yellows!! Result probably the same but #SadToSee ? #ENGvARG #RefIssues pic.twitter.com/vnlzMlAN0Q
— Shane Byrne (@shanebyrneoffic) October 5, 2019
The second non-call came moments after Lavanini’s red with Manu Tuilagi taking out Argentinan fullback Emiliano Boffelli in the air. England were penalised but many feel this warranted a yellow card with the tackler not attempting a ‘fair challenge’ for the ball.
— Daniel Hatton (@Baravore) October 5, 2019
— Keeping It Real (@KeepRealOk) October 5, 2019
On a different note ?
— Tony Whelan ?? (@Tony_Whelan) October 5, 2019
Nope. They got that wrong. It wasn't a fair challenge.
— Andy McGeady (@andymcgeady) October 5, 2019
#ENGvARG Never seen such an unfair match. This ref #NigelOwens is a pure scandal : the air tackle was perfectly illegal yet shamefull #NigelOwens did nothing to blame England for this. What a little cunt.
— N°148 (@N1482) October 5, 2019
— Jonny Dickie (@KleenSnappa) October 5, 2019
Pity about possibly the worst performance I’ve seen from Nigel Owens. Couldn’t spot an offside if it slapped him in the face. Poor.
— Wogsy E (@WogsyEllis) October 5, 2019
Duality of criteria from Nigel Owens.
Correct red card to Tomas Lavanini but missed two yellow cards for English players. One of them to Mario Tuilagi for tackle an Argentinien that was still in the air.#rugbyworldcup2019japan #RugbyWorldCup #englandargentina #nigelowens
— Luis Sarmento (@lgs09) October 5, 2019
England coach Clive Woodward was also critical of the non-yellow on Manu Tuilagi for his tackle in the air.
“It’s a definite yellow card. No-one from England can be complaining if he’s got one. If the Argentina player comes down on his head, you’re looking at real problems,” he said on ITV.
“It doesn’t matter how far off the ground you are, if you hit him in the air it’s a card. I think we got away with that one big time.
“In the spirit of the game, if there’s already been a red card, then Manu has to go for a yellow card.”
Mario Ledesma following Argentina’s loss to England:
Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.