Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

Jones names extended squad


Jones names 30-man squad ahead of Japan Test

Eddie Jones has selected 30 players to begin training today ahead of England’s third Test of the Quilter Internationals against Japan at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

There is still no place in the extended squad for Harlequins’ Mike Brown, while Bath winger Joe Cokanasiga has been drafted in. Fijian-born Cokanasiga toured with England to Argentina in the summer of 2017, but didn’t receive a cap. He has been in the training camps in the lead-up to the November Tests, but has been omitted so far when it came to the matches against the Springboks and the All Blacks. The 18-stone winger turns 21 on Thursday.

Saracens veteran scrum half Richard Wigglesworth is also named among the backs and is one of three scrum halves.

George Kruis is out of the rest of England’s November tests because of injury, with Charlie Ewels, Maro Itoje, uncapped Elliott Stooke and Courtney Lawes the second rows named, albeit Brad Shields can also slot into the position too.

Kruis was subbed off in the 66th minute of England’s 16-15 defeat by the All Blacks last Saturday.

Teenage Worcester flanker Ted Hill is also in the squad as an apprentice, while his clubmate Nick Schonert is seeking his first cap.

Continue reading below…
Watch: England can only improve from 16-15 defeat to New Zealand says Jones

Video Spacer

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)
Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors) *
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby)
Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs)
Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors)
Brad Shields (Wasps)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

You may also like: All Blacks coach Steve Hansen heaps praise on Eddie Jones after beating England

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Jones names 30-man squad ahead of Japan Test
Search Loading