Fish cops ban as decision handed down in both Muir and rare EPCR appeal
Fish was cited for making contact in a dangerous manner with the head of the Harlequins full back, Tyrone Green, in the 80th minute of the London thriller last weekend.
The independent Disciplinary Committee considered video imagery of the incident and heard evidence and submissions from Fish, who pleaded guilty to the charge, from the player’s legal representative, Richard Locke, from the Cardiff Rugby Team Manager, Gafyn Cooper, and from the EPCR Disciplinary Officer, Liam McTiernan.
The Committee upheld the complaint, finding that Fish had made contact with Green’s head in a dangerous manner. It then determined that the offence was at the mid-range of World Rugby’s sanctions and selected six weeks as the appropriate entry point. It was reduced to three weeks given his guilty plea, his ‘excellent disciplinary record’ and the fact that there were no aggravating factors.
Given his upcoming playing schedule which includes matches on 27 December, 3 January and 15 January, Fish is free to play on Monday, 17 January 2022. If he applies for a World Rugby Coaching Intervention, he will be free to play on Tuesday, 4 January 2022.
Elsewhere Bath’s Will Muir appeal was refused. Muir, has had his appeal against a four-week suspension refused following an fresh hearing today.
Muir was cited for having made contact in a reckless manner with the eye of Leinster Rugby’s Josh van der Flier in the 14th minute of the Leinster v Bath Heineken Champions Cup Round 1 match at the Aviva Stadium.
The panel was not satisfied on the balance of probability that the decision appealed against was wrong, or that the original Disciplinary Committee had fallen into error, and the appeal was therefore refused. He is free to play on Monday, 10 January 2022.
A rare appeal by the EPCR against a the dismissal of complaint against against Section Paloise second row, Daniel Ramsay, was also refused.
Sarries bending the rules? Never! ?https://t.co/9qWgdjkSil
— RugbyPass (@RugbyPass) December 23, 2021
The complaint arose from the EPCR Challenge Cup Round 1 fixture between Section Paloise and London Irish at the Stade du Hameau following which Ramsay was cited for making contact with the eye of the London Irish second row, Rob Simmons.
The panel dismissed the complaint on the basis that although Ramsay had made contact with Simmons’ eye or eye area, his actions did not warrant a red card. EPCR then lodged an appeal against the decision.
Evidence was also heard from the London Irish player, Rob Simmons. The Appeal Committee found that the player had not committed an act of foul play that would have warranted a red card. The original citing complaint was dismissed, and therefore, EPCR’s appeal was refused. Ramsay is free to play.
Join free and tell us what you really think!Join Free