All fixtures and scores here!
Show scores

Chiefs extend three players


Chiefs extend three players

The Chiefs have today announced the extension of three players.

In a statement the Hamilton-based club revealed Alex Nankivell, Sean Wainui and Liam Polwart will be with the club until the end of 2020.

“We are glad to announce that Alex Nankivell, Liam Polwart, and Sean Wainui have all recently signed two year contracts with the Chiefs Rugby Club, until the end of the 2020 Investec Super Rugby season,” the statement reads.

Bay of Plenty CEO Mike Rogers said of Polwart, “It is great to have Liam commit through to the end of the 2020 Mitre 10 Cup season. He is a part of a strong group of players that have and will continue to make a strong contribution to rugby in the Bay of Plenty. He has grown as a player since making his debut in 2016 for the Bay of Plenty Steamers as demonstrated by being a current Maori All Black.”

Taranaki Rugby Football Union CEO Jeremy Parkinson said of young midfielder Wainui, “Taranaki Rugby Football Union are delighted to align with the Chiefs and secure the services of Sean Wainui for a further two years.”

“Sean joined the Yarrows Taranaki Bulls in 2014 and has played 34 times for the province including being part of the history making 2017 Ranfurly Shield winning team that beat Canterbury in Christchurch last October.”

Wainui’s extension bears special meaning, as he was one of several Chiefs without a Super Rugby contract at the start of the season.

After Colin Cooper’s side were struck with injury, he called upon his former Taranaki charge Wainui. The 22-year-old Aucklander rewarded Cooper’s faith and has since made 13 appearances and scored six tries for the Chiefs, good for second on the team behind fullback Solomon Alaimalo.

In other news:

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Join our mailing list and get news, highlights and more every week!

Thanks for joining our mailing list.
Chiefs extend three players