Seems like the Barbarians match against Argentina could count as an extra Test match for the Springboks.


Head coach Rassie Erasmus has named 13 Springboks in the Barbarians group preparing to face Argentina.

They include World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Aphiwe Dyanti and Player of the Year nominee Malcolm Marx.

The rest of the Springboks contingent is backs Damian de Allende, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Handre Pollard. While the forwards are Schalk Brits, Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Malcolm Marx, Trevor Nayakane and Skihumbuzo Notshe.

There are players from seven other nations in the invitation side’s cosmopolitan squad for the Killik Cup match at Twickenham on December 1.

Continue watching below…

Video Spacer

Scrumhalf Frank Lomani joins the club after playing a key role in Fiji’s historic 21-14 win against France.

Argentina legend Juan Miguel Leguizamon lines up against the Pumas four years on from leading the Barbarians to victory over England.

And New Zealand’s Wyatt Crockett joins the squad at the end of his distinguished Crusaders and All Blacks career.

In keeping with the Barbarians’ traditions, there are two uncapped players in the Chiefs’ Australian flyhalf Jack Debreczeni and the Crusaders flank Jordan Taufua.


Barbarians squad

Tomasso Benvenuti (Benetton & Italy), Damian de Allende (Stormers & South Africa), Jack Debreczeni (Chiefs), Aphiwe Dyanti (Lions & South Africa), Tom English (Rebels & Australia), Leon Fukofuka (Auckland & Tonga), Elton Jantjies (Lions & South Africa), Jesse Kriel (Bulls & South Africa), Frank Lomani (Rebels & Fiji), Handre Pollard (Bulls & South Africa).


Schalk Brits (Unattched & South Africa), Wyatt Crockett (Crusaders & New Zealand), Lood de Jager (Bulls & South Africa), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers & South Africa), Luke Jones (Bordeaux Begles & Australia), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers & South Africa), Siya Kolisi (Stormers & South Africa), Juan Miguel Leguizamon (Jaguares & Argentina), Malcolm Marx (Lions & South Africa), Alexandre Menini (Lyon & France), Trevor Nayakane (Bulls & South Africa), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers & South Africa), Jordan Taufua (Crusaders)

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now