All fixtures and scores here!
Show scores

Young Reds looking to rebound


Young Reds looking to rebound against Brumbies

The Queensland Reds will be looking to rebound against the Brumbies after a miserable start to their season last week.

Reds captain Scott Higginbotham and lock Lukhan Tui are both out of the side after copping three-week suspensions for a pair dangerous tackles in the team’s opening loss to the Rebels.

Tui’s absence has moved Wallaby Kane Douglas into the No 5 shirt, while Higginbotham’s absence has caused a back-row reshuffle.

20-year-old Liam Wright will make his run-on debut at openside flanker, Caleb Timu will start at Number 8 and Adam Korcyzk shifts to blindside.

Rookie forwards Harry Hockings and Angus Scott-Young, 19 and 20 years old respectively, are both in line for a Super Rugby debut off a very young bench. Brad Thorn has named three 19-year-olds, a 20-year-old and a 21-year-old among his reserves.

Thorn is looking forward to playing in front of a home crowd for the first time this season, stating “Friday is our first chance to play in front of our home fans and the guys are keen to bounce back from a disappointing loss last weekend.

“The Brumbies are a solid team. They’re strong at their set piece and around the breakdown. They’ve been together for a long time, they’ll be a tough challenge.”

The Brumbies have also made two changes to their starting side, with lock Rory Arnold and flanker Lachlan McCaffrey receiving starting nods. Rory replaces his brother Richie, while McCaffrey replaces injured teenager Rob Valetini.

There are three changes on the bench, with prop Nic Mayhew, loose forward Lolo Fakaosilea and lock Blake Enever named in the side.

Dan McKellar’s men are coming off a tough trip to Japan, where they edged out a new look Sunwolves side 32-25 in Japan.

They will be hoping to build on their performance and make it two from two on the road before they take on the resurgent Rebels in Melbourne next week.

Wallabies lock Sam Carter will lead the team as they continue their efforts to repeat as Australian Conference champions.


1. James Slipper (C), 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 3. Taniela Tupou, 4. Izack Rodda, 5. Kane Douglas, 6. Adam Korczyk, 7. Liam Wright, 8. Caleb Timu, 9. James Tuttle, 10. Jono Lance, 11. Eto Nabuli, 12. Duncan Paia’aua, 13. Samu Kerevi, 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 15. Aidan Toua.

16. Alex Mafi, 17. JP Smith, 18. Sef Fa’agase, 19. Harry Hockings, 20. Angus Scott-Young, 21. Tate McDermott, 22. Hamish Stewart, 23. Filipo Daugunu


1. Ben Alexander, 2. Josh Mann-Rea, 3. Allan Alaalatoa, 4. Rory Arnold, 5. Sam Carter (C), 6. Lachlan McCaffrey, 7. Tom Cusack, 8. Isi Naisarani, 9. Joe Powell, 10. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Chance Peni, 12. Kyle Godwin, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Henry Speight, 15. Tom Banks.

16. Robbie Abel, 17. Nic Mayhew, 18. Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19. Blake Enever, 20. Lolo Fakaosilea, 21. Matt Lucas, 22. Wharenui Hawera, 23. Lausii Taliauli.

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Join our mailing list and get news, highlights and more every week!

Thanks for joining our mailing list.
Young Reds looking to rebound against Brumbies