MATCH
CENTRE
All fixtures and scores here!
Login
Logout
Show scores

Watch: Is this the first ref to ever...

Back

Watch: Is this the first ref to ever change his call? Baffling try awarded on 5-metre line in World Rugby under-20 match

Is this the first referee to ever change a decision?

A Japanese referee was left embarrassed as Samoa’s under-20 team pointed out to him the try he just awarded to Romania, was in fact, on the five-metre line.

Romania set a driving maul from the lineout which was stopped on the five-metre line and began celebrating when the ref awarded a try. The apologetic official was a little too keen to blow his whistle on this occasion, leaving the Samoans frantically pointing out the location of the actual try line in protest.

The call was overturned immediately once the referee realised he had made a colossal error but is perhaps a lesson to all whistle-happy referees to think twice about their decisions. If in doubt, always consult your touch judge.

In other news:

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Join our mailing list and get news, highlights and more every week!

Thanks for joining our mailing list.
Watch: Is this the first ref to ever change his call? Baffling try awarded on 5-metre line in World Rugby under-20 match