One of Super Rugby’s growing issues is that stadiums in Australia and New Zealand are often awash of empty seats on match day.


The Waratahs will aim to alleviate that problem in 2020 by taking fixtures to a number of smaller venues across the state.

The NSW Rugby Union have released a list of confirmed venues for next season, which kicks off on Friday the 31st of January.

Michael Hooper and his men will travel to six different venues, including the SCG, Brookvale Oval, Bankwest Stadium, McDonalds Jones Stadium (Newcastle), WIN Stadium (Wollongong) and Scully Park (Tamworth).

The SCG can hold up to 46,000 spectators whilst Bankwest Stadium and McDonalds Jones Stadium can cater for 30,000. The other three venues cap out at under 25,000.

Video Spacer

Scully Park, where the Waratahs will host the Bulls, can hold just 11,000 fans. The Round 8 fixture will mark the first time that the Waratahs have taken a Super Rugby fixture to NSW country.


Spreading the games across the region will ensure that the maximum number of Waratahs supporters in the state will be able to attend fixtures. The matches will also look considerably better when televised, with stadiums likely to be considerably closer to full capacity than they have been in the past.

The changes have also been somewhat forced upon the NSRWU due to the continued redevelopment of ANZ Stadium and the Sydney Football Stadium.

View this post on Instagram

Honest words from Cooper on twitter. #rwc2019

A post shared by RugbyPass (@rugbypass) on

“The [NSWRU] Board made it clear from the outset that we wanted to use our current displacement as an opportunity to engage with fans across NSW,” interim-CEO Phillip Van Schalkwyk said.


“To be playing in regional, country and a range of metropolitan locations in 2020 is a great result.

“We’re extremely excited about the completion of the new SFS and would again like to thank the SCG for their support during this process.”

The Waratahs begin their season on Saturday February 1st against reigning champions the Crusaders.

NSW Waratahs 2020 Super Rugby home fixtures:

Round 2: NSW Waratahs v Auckland Blues, McDonald Jones Stadium

Round 5: NSW Waratahs v Lions, Bankwest Stadium

Round 6: NSW Waratahs v Chiefs, WIN Stadium

Round 8: NSW Waratahs v Bulls, Scully Park, Tamworth

Round 9: NSW Waratahs v Sunwolves, SCG

Round 12: NSW Waratahs v Reds, Bankwest Stadium

Round 14: NSW Waratahs v Rebels, Brookvale Oval

Round 17: NSW Waratahs v Brumbies, Bankwest Stadium

Dave Rennie could be taking over as head coach of the Wallabies from 2020:

Video Spacer
More News

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now