Brumbies coach Dan McKellar has named Ryan Lonergan and Toni Pulu for their first starts of 2020 when the side clashes with the Sunwolves in Wollongong on Friday.


Lonergan will wear the No. 9 jersey for the first time at Super Rugby level, partnering Noah Lolesio who has started at flyhalf in every match so far this season.

Pulu returned to the match day 23 in the side’s win against the Chiefs in New Zealand and will be joined in the back three by damaging ball runner Solomone Kata and fullback Tom Banks.

Continue reading below…

Video Spacer

In the midfield, Irae Simone and Tevita Kuridrani will continue to build on their combination, named in the centres together for the fourth time this year.

Up front, Scott Sio returns to the starting XV alongside skipper Allan Alaalatoa and Connal McInerney who will wear the number two jersey for the second match in a row.


The rest of the pack remains unchanged with Murray Douglas and Cadeyrn Neville to continue their second row partnership and Will Miller, Rob Valetini and Pete Samu in the back row.

Last round’s debutant Lachlan Lonergan is in line for his second Brumbies cap from the pine, joined by James Slipper and Tom Ross as the front row replacements.

Darcy Swain and Tom Cusack make their first appearances in the match day squad since round two for the clash at WIN Stadium.


Joe Powell will add some spark as replacement halfback with rookie Reesjan Pasitoa and the versatile Tom Wright the other backline finishers.

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar said: “We’re really excited for Ryan and Toni.¬† Ryan’s been superb for us at the back end of games so far this year and has earned his first start at Super Rugby level.”

“Toni was really impressive against the Chiefs in Hamilton and brings a lot of experience to our squad.

“The Sunwolves are a really dangerous team and we’re not reading into their recent results, they got a good win over the Rebels at the start of the season and we’re certainly expecting a tough game on Friday.

“We’re looking forward to getting up to Wollongong for what’s become a Super Rugby double header and to seeing plenty of our supporters at the game on Friday.”


1. Scott Sio
2. Connal McInerney
3. Allan Alaalatoa (c)
4. Murray Douglas
5. Cadeyrn Neville
6. Rob Valetini
7. Will Miller
8. Pete Samu
9. Ryan Lonergan
10. Noah Lolesio
11. Toni Pulu
12. Irae Simone
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Solomone Kata
15. Tom Banks


16. Lachlan Lonergan
17. James Slipper
18. Tom Ross
19. Darcy Swain
20. Tom Cusack
21. Joe Powell
22. Reesjan Pasitoa
23. Tom Wright

– Brumbies Rugby

In other news:

Video Spacer

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now