Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Sharks and Sunwolves ring changes

By Online Editors
Japan head coach Jamie Joseph. Photo / Getty Images

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has made a number of changes to his matchday 23 for Saturday’s clash against the Sunwolves.


Curwin Bosch gets a start at fullback with Lwazi Mvovo moving to the bench after two starts.

Makazole Mapimpi starts in the back three in the No 11 jersey with Sibusiso Nkosi shifting to No 14. Jacobus van Wyk drops out of the matchday 23.

Lubabalo Mtembu replaces Keegan Daniel at Number 8 with the latter dropping down to the bench. Jacques Vermeulen shifts from blindside to openside flanker with Wian Vosloo set to make his Super Rugby debut in the No 6 jersey.

There are also two changes in the front row with John-Hubert Meyer coming in for Thomas du Toit. At hooker, the Sharks have not made a decision on who will start. Armand van der Merwe and Mahlatse Ralepelle have been bracketed in the starting XV and on the bench.

With 138 appearances for the Sharks, Tendai Mtawarira, becomes the most capped Sharks Super Rugby player of all time, surpassing the record previously held by Jon-Paul Pietersen.

Gideon Koegelenberg could make his Super Rugby debut if he gets off the bench.


For the Sunwolves, head coach Jamie Joseph has made wholesale changes to his matchday 23.

Only four players hold onto their places in the starting XV from the team that lost to the Melbourne Rebels last weekend.

Willie Britz takes over the captaincy and moves from lock to No.8 for Saturday’s clash.

The Sunwolves are also missing a number of players due to injury.


Sam Wykes, Timothy Lafaele and Akihito Yamada are all out with concussion.

Shota Horie and Hayden Parker are missing due to hamstring injuries, while Asaeli Valu has lower back pain.


15. Curwin Bosch, 14. Sibusiso Nkosi, 13. Lukhanyo Am, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11.Makazole Mapimpi, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Lubabalo Mtembu, 7. Jacques Vermeulen, 6. Wian Vosloo, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Ruan Botha (C), 3. John-Hubert Meyer, 2. Armand van der Merwe/Mahlatse Ralepelle, 1. Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16. Armand van der Merwe/Mahlatse Ralepelle, 17. Juan Schoeman, 18. Ross Geldenhuys, 19. Gideon Koegelenberg, 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Cameron Wright, 22. Marius Louw, 23. Lwazi Mvovo.


15. Kotaro Matsushima, 14. Lomano Lemeki, 13. Sione Teaupa, 12. Michael Little, 11. William Tupou, 10. Harumichi Tatekawa, 9. Keisuke Uchida, 8. Willem Britz (C), 7. Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 6. Michael Leitch, 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Kazuki Himeno, 3. Takuma Asahara, 2. Yusuke Niwai, 1. Craig Millar.
Replacements: 16. Atsushi Sakate, 17. Shintaro Ishihara, 18. Hencus van Wyk, 19. Wimpie van der Walt, 20. Pieter Labuschagne, 21. Yutaka Nagare, 22. Ryoto Nakamura, 23. Robbie Robinson.


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING All Blacks outcast George Bridge linked to Super Rugby Pacific switch George Bridge linked with move to Chiefs