Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

England's 25-man Oxford training camp


England name 25-man squad for 'Georgian' training camp in Oxford

England head coach Eddie Jones has called up 25 players to attend a training camp in Oxford this week.

The squad includes Maro Itoje, who missed England’s 21-13 defeat to Wales with medial ligament damage, a loss in which Lawes suffered a calf strain that will keep him out for at least four weeks.

England cannot afford another slip-up in their final games with Italy and Scotland, and Itoje may well be called upon earlier than expected as they bid to keep their title hopes alive.

“[Itoje] is coming along well,” coach Eddie Jones said. “I might have to give him the hurry-up, because we’ve lost Courtney.”

Video Spacer

As well as Itoje, both Sam Underhill and Anthony Watson will appear for ‘medical checks’.

The statement reads: “The players will assemble on Tuesday for a four-day camp which will see the Georgian national team take part in two days of training with the England team.

“In addition, Maro Itoje (Saracens) will continue his rehabilitation in Oxford while the Bath Rugby pair Sam Underhill and Anthony Watson will be in for medical checks only.”

The Georgian National Team appeared to get the upper hand in a tough scrummaging workshop in a similar joint training session last year at Latymers School in London, and all eyes will be on Oxford for this year’s edition.

England squad

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs)
Brad Shields (Wasps)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens) captain
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Dan Robson (Wasps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

England name 25-man squad for 'Georgian' training camp in Oxford
Search Loading