Crisis averted for Springboks after Franco Mostert hearing
South Africa second-row Franco Mostert is free to play against Ireland on Saturday in the Quilter Nations Series after having his red card against Italy rescinded.
The double World Cup winner was sent off by referee James Doleman after only 10 minutes of the Springboks’ 32-14 victory over the Azzurri in Turin for a high shot on Italy fly-half Paolo Garbisi.
Mostert appeared before an independent disciplinary committee on Tuesday, with South Africa facing the prospect of losing a second lock in as many weeks following Lood de Jager’s tour-ending ban for his red card against France the week before. This would have left South Africa’s second-row stocks fairly thin for the rest of their tour, though Rassie Erasmus would still have had plenty of options.
Instead, the 34-year-old has been cleared to play the Boks’ final two tour games against Ireland and Wales, with his red car expunged.
Though the panel determined that an act of foul play had occurred, they deemed the tackle unworthy of a red card, saying the initial contact was shoulder on shoulder.
A statement reads: “South Africa number 5, Franco Mostert, appeared before an independent disciplinary committee on Tuesday evening via video link having received a red card for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.13 in the match between Italy and South Africa on Saturday 15th November 2025.
“The independent disciplinary committee was chaired by Stephen Hardy (Australia), who was joined by former players Ofisa Tonu’u (New Zealand) and Jamie Corsi (Wales).
“Having conducted a detailed review of all available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence and submissions made by and on behalf of the player, the disciplinary committee determined that although there had been head contact and an act of foul play occurring within the incident, the offending did not reach the red card threshold.
“Rather, the evidence established that the initial contact made by the player was directly to the shoulder of Italy 10 with there being “daylight” between the shoulder contact and head/neck area of Italy 10. Head contact was then found to have occurred, but was found to be secondary to the initial shoulder contact and made with much lower force and without the requisite level of “danger” required under World Rugby’s Head Contact Process to make the offending reach the red card threshold.
“The red card has accordingly been dismissed and will be expunged from the player’s disciplinary record.
“As a result, the player is now free to play and available for selection this weekend.”