Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

South Africa unveils its 45-strong Junior Springbok academy selection

By Online Editors
(Photo by Rodrigo Valle/Getty Images)

Junior Springbok coach Chean Roux has opted for continuity in selection as the 45-strong SA Rugby academy squad announced on Wednesday contains 27 players who featured in the SA U19s last season and 37 who attended the SA Rugby alignment camps last month.


The group includes six capped World Rugby U20 Championship players in Celimpilo Gumede, Sibusiso Sangweni (loose forwards), Emile van Heerden (lock), Jaden Hendrikse (scrum-half), Thabiso Mdletshe (prop) and Mnombo Zwelendaba (centre).

The SA Rugby academy programme, launched in 2017, aims to balance formal education with high performance training and player welfare.

This year’s programme, which will again be steered by Roux and his Junior Springbok coaching team, will run from Thursday, March 12, to mid-May. The squad will be based at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport.

In line with the programme’s objective of ensuring holistic player development on and off the field, the goal is to have all the participants enrolled for various degrees, national diplomas, national certificates and short courses, which will be backed up by life skills and mentorship programmes and regular tutor sessions.

Only eight players in the group did not participate in the SA Rugby alignment camps, Asanda Kunene, Kabelo Mokoena (wingers), Jason Alexander (hooker), Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Thys Kitshoff (props), George Cronje, Uzile Tele (loose forwards), and Muzi Manyike (full-back). Tele and Manyike, however, were withdrawn due to injury.

Cronje and Wessels (both Clermont) are currently contracted to overseas clubs, while another overseas-based player Kade Wolhuter (fly-half – Montpellier) was also invited to the academy.


“These 45 players are among the best U19 and U20 players, and it gives us great pleasure to assist in their development both and off the field,” said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux.

“In 2018, a total of 30 players participated in the programme and that was increased to 45 last year, and we are delighted that we can once again name a large squad.

Chean Roux added: “This is a talented group of players and I’m excited we will have the opportunity to work with them daily in the next three months.

“With a number of the players having represented the SA U19 team on our successful tour to Georgia late last year, and most of them having taken part in the alignment camps we hosted in February, we have a good foundation to build on.


“Some players are new to the group, especially the likes of George and Jan-Hendrik who have been plying their trade abroad in the last year, but they all came through our elite player development programmes and were in the South African rugby structures until last year, so we have no doubt they will slot in with ease.

“Most of the players in this group have progressed from the SA Rugby U16 to U18 EPD structures, and the fact they have advanced to this level rubberstamps the effectiveness of our development pathway.”

SA Rugby Academy squad:

Props: Banele Mthenjane (Xerox Golden Lions), Dewald Donald (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Sphekahle Dube (Cell C Sharks), Hanro Jacobs (Cell C Sharks), Thys Kitshoff (DHL Western Province), Thabiso Mdletshe (Cell C Sharks), Wian Otto (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

Hookers: Jason Alexander (DHL Western Province), Morne Brandon (Xerox Golden Lions), JJ Kotze (DHL Western Province), Cullen van der Merwe (Cell C Sharks) 

Locks: Adrian Alberts (Xerox Golden Lions), Werner Coetzee (Cell C Sharks), Dylan De Leeuw (DHL Western Province), Lunga Ncube (Cell C Sharks), Emile van Heerden (Cell C Sharks)

Loose forwards: George Cronje (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Celimpilo Gumede (Cell C Sharks), Thabo Ndimande (Xerox Golden Lions), Keenan Opperman (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Evan Roos (Cell C Sharks), Sibusiso Sangweni (Xerox Golden Lions), Uzile Tele (Vodacom Blue Bulls) 

Scrum-halves: Ross Braude (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Thomas Bursey (DHL Western Province), Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks), Bernard van der Linde (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Fly-halves: Lionel April (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Jordan Hendrikse (DHL Western Province), Juan Mostert (DHL Western Province)

Centres: Diego Appollis (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Christie Grobbelaar (SA Rugby Sevens Academy), Rynhardt Jonker (Cell C Sharks), Dawid Kellerman (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Boitumelo Tsatsane (Xerox Golden Lions), Brenden Venter (DHL Western Province), Mnonbo Zwelendaba (DHL Western Province)

Outside backs: Stravino Jacobs (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Cohen Jasper (Toyota Free State), Richard Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Asanda Kunene (Cell C Sharks), Muzilikazi Manyike (Xerox Golden Lions), Kabelo Mokoena (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Sibabalwe Xamlashe (DHL Western Province)

WATCH: RugbyPass Rugby Explorer takes a trek through South African rugby, stopping off at Cape Town and Port Elizabeth


Join free

Beyond 80 | Episode 3

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Big Jim Show | Guinness Six Nations | England v Scotland

Vancouver SVNS - Day 2 - Full Replay

Vancouver SVNS - Day 1 - Full Replay

Boks Office | Jesse Kriel reveals the hardest team he had to play at the Rugby World Cup

Big Jim Walks and Talks with Handré Pollard


Trending on RugbyPass


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Ex-All Black set to debut for Rebels after 'deflating' first round loss Ex-All Black set to debut for Rebels