Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

Chiefs team named for Blues


Retallick returns for Battle of the Bombays

There are no real surprises in the Chiefs team Colin Cooper today named to take on the Blues in Hamilton this Saturday.

Brodie Retallick, fresh off a two-week rest, returns to captain the side. Other changes from the team that managed a last gasp win over the Jaguares have been dictated primarily due to injury.

Angus Ta’avao, who has been used primarily as a tighthead prop this season, comes onto the loosehead side of the scrum with Aidan Ross unavailable. Ryan Coxon and Sosefo Kautai will provide propping cover on the bench.

Tyler Ardron will shift from number eight to join Retallick in the tight five in place of most recent captain Michael Allardice. Luke Jacobson and Lachlan Boshier remain on the flanks with the newly signed for Waikato Taleni Seu set to start at number eight. Pita Gus Sowakula joins the matchday 23 for the first time this year, slotting in at number 20.

The backs remain unchanged from two weeks ago, with big Japanese winger Ataata Moeakiola returning from injury via the bench.

Chiefs: Damian McKenzie, Sean Wainui, Tumua Manu, Anton Lienert-Brown, Solomon Alaimalo, Marty McKenzie, Brad Weber, Taleni Seu, Lachlan Boshier, Luke Jacobson, Tyler Ardron, Brodie Retallick (c),  Nepo Laulala, Nathan Harris, Angus Ta’avao. Reserves: Samisoni Taukei’aho, Ryan Coxon, Sosefo Kautai, Jesse Parete, Pita Gus Sowakula, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Alex Nankivell, Ataata Moeakiola.

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Retallick returns for Battle of the Bombays