Northern Edition
Select Edition
Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

Bok lock update: Lood de Jager red card appeal dismissed

Lood de Jager, left, speaks with team-mate Eben Etzebeth during a South Africa squad training at UCD Bowl in Belfield, Dublin. (Photo By Shauna Clinton/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

South Africa have been dealt a fresh blow in the second row after Lood de Jager failed in his attempt to overturn the red card that ended his November campaign.

ADVERTISEMENT

The 6’9 Springboks’ red card dismissal against France was the first of a double-whammy of Autumn Nations Series sendings off for their second-rows, coming a week before Franco Mostert saw the same fate in their win over Italy.

As a result, De Jager will play no further part this month. It leaves the Springboks to navigate the rest of the tour, which will end in 9 days with a game against Wales, without their experienced Saitama Wild Knights No.5.

VIDEO

De Jager, sent off for a dangerous tackle during the win over France on 8 November, appeared before an independent Appeal Committee on Wednesday evening via video link.

He had challenged both the finding that he committed an act of foul play under Law 9.13 and the resulting four-match suspension.

The Appeal Committee dismissed the appeal in full.

After reviewing the case as originally presented to the Disciplinary Committee and considering further submissions made on the player’s behalf, the panel upheld the decision that the tackle merited a red card and the sanction that followed.

The ruling lands on the same day Rassie Erasmus named his match-day squad for Ireland, confirming de Jager’s absence for the remainder of the series.

ADVERTISEMENT

It comes after better news for the Boks on Wednesday.

Franco Mostert, whose permanent red card against Italy last weekend threatened to deepen the lock shortage, had his sending-off rescinded at his own hearing on Tuesday.

The independent Disciplinary Committee found that while there was foul play and head contact in Mostert’s challenge on Paolo Garbisi, the incident did not meet the red-card threshold.

Their review concluded that the initial contact was directly to Garbisi’s shoulder, with “daylight” between that point and the head or neck.

The subsequent head contact was deemed secondary, made with lower force and without the level of danger required under World Rugby’s Head Contact Process.

ADVERTISEMENT

The red card has been dismissed and removed from his record.

Related

 

ADVERTISEMENT
Play Video
LIVE

{{item.title}}

Trending on RugbyPass

Comments

8 Comments
O
OJ 23 days ago

Anyone who has any faith in WRs disciplinary process is more in need of an HIA assessment than Ramos after loods hit.

J
J S 24 days ago

Wow Ramos knocked Loods left arm down and there are angles that show it. Clearly remains the incorrect decision to hold ban up. Plus no hia for ramos

D
DP 24 days ago

There is NO WAY WR was going to dismiss this, couldn’t possibly admit to 2 mistakes in a row against the same team.

J
JO 24 days ago

Question remains: HOW DID THE TMO not see what everyone saw??? What penalty - if any - does this person face? His ‘blind’ call had quite an impact on players beyond Mostert.

t
tf 24 days ago

Didn't the ref send them both straight off. No TMO second review hence they where not 20 min reds. I mean they were both acts of foul play and so the TMO was right to bring them up, but wasn't responsible for the card choice. If the Mostert one was a pen or a Yellow after the bunker nobody would be this annoyed.

Load More Comments

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free
ADVERTISEMENT

Latest Long Reads

Comments on RugbyPass

Close
ADVERTISEMENT