Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Ulster announce 3 departures for 2020/21 season, confirm extension for two Ireland players

(Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Ulster have confirmed their squad for the 2020/21 season, Dan McFarland’s pick showing three changes from the resources he relied on during the indefinitely suspended 2019/20 campaign that halted with the Irish province through to the quarter-finals of the Heineken Champions Cup and lying in second place in Conference A of the Guinness PRO14. 


McFarland’s two big signings have already been long revealed, the arrival of out-half Ian Madigan from Bristol and Alby Mathewson, the ex-All Black scrum-half who had started this season at Munster before his deal ran out after he provided World Cup cover for Conor Murray.

Stewart Moore is the third addition to the Kingspan Stadium senior squad for next term, graduating to a one-year development contract that will then become a two-year senior pro deal. The arrivals of Madigan and Mathewson – both on one-year deals – and the upgrading of Moore will see Angus Kernohan, Zack McCall and Clive Ross all leave Ulster. 

Video Spacer

Re-elected World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont guests on The Rugby Pod

Video Spacer

Re-elected World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont guests on The Rugby Pod

Elsewhere, McFarland confirmed the Jordi Murphy and Will Addison have both agreed to two-year extensions to remain part of a squad that will contain 41 fully contracted players and two development players – 39 of which are Irish qualified. They include Jacob Stockdale, who was upgraded to a three-year IRFU central contract in February.

Heading into his third season in charge in Belfast after arriving from Glasgow in 2018, McFarland said: “Our desire to build on the successes of this season to date is evidenced in our strong investment in talent from the current squad. Although it’s an uncertain time for rugby – and all sport – I’m confident our selection will stand us in good stead for when we are able to safely start the new season.

“Once again, the chosen line-up of players shines a light on the indigenous talent nurtured through the academy by Kieran Campbell and his staff – and the role which it, along with the province’s clubs and schools, continues to play in securing the future of Ulster.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the players who are moving on from the squad. This includes Clive Ross, who earned 73 caps since joining the province on a development contract in 2014, along with 21-capped Angus Kernohan, and Zack McCall.


“Looking to the future, we look forward to welcoming the new additions to the squad, who are set to bring their own unique skills and talent, as we move towards a time when the 2020/21 season can kick-off.”

The Ulster academy squad for 2020/21 includes six new entrants: Reuben Crothers, Ben Carson, Nathan Doak, Lewis Finlay, Cormac Izuchukwu and James McCormick.

ULSTER SQUAD 2020/21: Will Addison, John Andrew, Robert Baloucoune, Billy Burns, Sam Carter, Marcell Coetzee, John Cooney, Angus Curtis, Matt Faddes, Craig Gilroy, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, James Hume, Bill Johnston, Greg Jones, Ross Kane, Michael Lowry, Louis Ludik, Rob Lyttle, Ian Madigan, Luke Marshall, Alby Mathewson, Adam McBurney, Kyle McCall, Stuart McCloskey, Jack McGrath, Gareth Milasinovic, Marty Moore, Stewart Moore, Jordi Murphy, Alan O’Connor, David O’Connor, Eric O’Sullivan, Tom O’Toole, Marcus Rea, Matty Rea, Sean Reidy, David Shanahan, Jonny Stewart, Jacob Stockdale, Nick Timoney, Kieran Treadwell, Andrew Warwick.

ULSTER ACADEMY SQUAD 2020/21: Azur Allison, Ben Carson, Reuben Crothers, Nathan Doak, Lewis Finlay, Bruce Houston, Hayden Hyde, Cormac Izuchukwu, Dave McCann, James McCormick, Ethan McIlroy, Conor Rankin, Callum Reid, Aaron Sexton, Tom Stewart.


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

Shaylen 4 hours ago
Brumbies the best team in Australia but still nothing to show for it

The Brumbies have been the strongest side in Australia for a long time and that was down to their forwards and set piece which has always been good and has always been able to dominate their Australian counterparts. This year the lack of maul tries and also the lack of a stable scrum has been a real problem which was also something Nick alluded to in his article this week about the creaking brumbies tight five. Home advantage is key as you say and the Brumbies must find a way to score more bonus points. If the Brumbies are really serious about winning a title they need to do what Kiwi sides at the top do. They need to smash every Aus side with a bonus point at home while claiming losing bonus points in every game they lose and denying their rivals bonus points. In their 3 losses in NZ this year they were smashed. They only scored 60 tries which is middle of the road, their scrum came in at 73% which was one of the worst in the comp, tackle success at just 83% which was right at the bottom and in terms of metres, clean breaks, carries, offloads and rucks built they were in the middle plus they had the most yellows. They basically were just not dominant enough wile they can improve their discipline. They excelled at kicking and won plenty of lineout ball plus their rucks were secure at 97%. Not sure about turnovers but they weren’t bad there. They just need to be more clinical and give away less and they will give themselves the best chance to win the title.

9 Go to comments
TRENDING Leon MacDonald on the Super semi-finals' impact on All Blacks selection The Super semi-finals' impact on NZ selection