Following yesterday’s announcement that 19 first team-players had agreed contract extensions with the club, Northampton Saints have now confirmed their full squad list for the remainder of the 2019/20 season and the duration of the 2020/21 campaign.


A total of 11 new faces arrive at Franklin’s Gardens, with director of rugby Chris Boyd leading a group of 56 players in total.

Nick Isiekwe, Shaun Adendorff, Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, Nick Auterac and Tom Jame are among the new recruits, while 66% (37/56) of Northampton’s senior squad have come through the club’s Academy system.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Dylan Hartley, Heinrich Brüssow, Cobus Reinach and Jamie Gibson have all moved on from the Saints squad that began the current campaign.

Boyd’s coaching group remains unchanged for the 2020/21 season, with Sam Vesty (Attack Coach), Ian Vass (Defence Coach), Phil Dowson (Forwards Coach) and Matt Ferguson (Assistant/Scrum Coach) at the helm.

Mark Hopley (Head of Academy) leads a Senior Academy group of 15 players, supported by Jake Sharp (Academy Skills Coach), Alex O’Dowd (Academy Programme Manager), Will Parkin (Junior Academy Development Manager) and James Craig (DPP Manager).

The Saints sat fourth in the Premiership table, 10 points off leaders Exeter, when the season was suspended due to the coronavirus pandemic earlier this year.


Northampton Saints squad:

Nick Auterac
Owen Franks
Karl Garside
Paul Hill
Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi
Emmanuel Iyogun*
Ehren Painter
Ed Prowse*
Alex Waller
Francois van Wyk

Callum Burns*
James Fish
Mikey Haywood
Jack Hughes*
Samson Ma’asi
Reece Marshall
Sam Matavesi

Shaun Adendorff
Lewis Bean
Alex Coles
Teimana Harrison
Nick Isiekwe (season-long loan, starting 1 August)
Courtney Lawes
Lewis Ludlam
Alex Moon
Ollie Newman*
Api Ratuniyarawa
David Ribbans
Kayde Sylvester*
JJ Tonks*
Tui Uru*
Tom Wood


Tom James
Alex Mitchell
Henry Taylor
Connor Tupai

Dan Biggar
James Grayson
Tommy Mathews*

Reuben Bird-Tulloch*
Fraser Dingwall
Piers Francis
Ethan Grayson*
Rory Hutchinson
Tom Litchfield*
Matt Proctor

Tom Collins
Josh Gillespie*
Dani Long-Martinez*
Taqele Naiyaravoro
Ryan Olowofela
Ollie Sleightholme

Tommy Freeman*
George Furbank
Harry Mallinder
Ahsee Tuala

* Senior Academy 2020/21

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now