Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

James Slipper named to become most-capped Australian in Super Rugby history

By Finn Morton
James Slipper is applauded by team mates in celebration of his 150th Super Rugby match during the round eight Super Rugby Pacific match between the Fijian Drua and the ACT Brumbies at on April 09, 2022 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Albert Perez/Getty Images)

Wallabies veteran James Slipper is set to surpass former Brumbies hooker Stephen Moore as the most-capped Australian in Super Rugby history after being named to take on the NSW Waratahs in Canberra on Saturday.


Slipper, 34, is set to pack down in the starting front row along with Billy Pollard and Sosefo Kautai in what will be his 178th appearance in the prestigious southern hemisphere rugby competition.

Australian international Darcy Swain and Nick Frost will link up as the locks, while Rob Valetini, Tom Hooper and Charlie Cale make up one of the most in-form backrow trios in Super Rugby Pacific.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Halfback Ryan Lonergan will lead an unchanged backline into battle at Canberra’s GIO Stadium, with Noah Lolesio Tamati Tua and Hudson Creighton all retaining their spots in playmaking roles.


Speedster Corey Toole and New Zealand-born Ollie Sapsford will take their place on the wings, while Tom Wright will look to continue his purple patch of form against one of the Brumbies’ greatest rivals.

With the Brumbies currently sitting in third place on the Super Rugby Pacific standings behind the undefeated Hurricanes and in-form Blues, a win this weekend seems vital.

The Australian derby at Canberra’s GIO Stadium is scheduled to get underway at 7:35 pm AEDT on Saturday evening.


Brumbies team to take on NSW Waratahs

  1. James Slipper
  2. Billy Pollard
  3. Sosefo Kautai
  4. Darcy Swain
  5. Nick Frost
  6. Rob Valetini
  7. Tom Hooper
  8. Charlie Cale
  9. Ryan Lonergan
  10. Noah Lolesio
  11. Corey Toole
  12. Tamati Tua
  13. Hudson Creighton
  14. Ollie Sapsford
  15. Tom Wright


  1. Connal McInerney
  2. Fred Kahea
  3. Rhys Van Nek
  4. Cadeyrn Neville
  5. Luke Reimer
  6. Harrison Goddard
  7. Jack Debreczeni
  8. Declan Meredith

Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Gatland braces himself for a summer of short term pain for long term gain Gatland braces himself for a summer of short term pain for long term gain